Bewildered…

J’s girlfriend and mother went away for Thanksgiving and will not be back until tomorrow. J wanted to come home and we let him. He has been here since Tuesday and will leave tomorrow when his girlfriend gets home. He looks good. He has been sleeping like a normal person and has been helpful and polite. He has been kind to his brother and sisters.  He looks clean? If you are waiting for the BUT there really isn’t one. That is what makes this so bewildering. He has managed to get off Suboxone one crumb at a time and I am very proud of that because apparently that is no easy feat. His attitude is different and he has been using actions to show it instead of those useless words he has been so good at. I am not going to waste this gift. I am enjoying him.

The only problem I have is, he has had some alcoholic drinks.  Hmm…maybe that is the BUT in all of this. Drinking has never been an issue with him. Do you think it is possible to drink socially and still be in recovery? I do worry that he could just switch addictions and wish I could tell him what to do but we all know how that works out. I pray that this will not become a problem.

I hope you all had a wonderful THANKSGIVING!

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free when my oldest son went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Bewildered…

  1. Syd says:

    I am glad that you had a good Thanksgiving.

  2. Barbara says:

    Sounds like thing are going really well. I’m sure you will get mixed opinions on the drinking in recovery. I know that for Keven he can NOT drink because he does have a problem with it.

    Did J get drunk or just have a social drink or two? I guess that would be a big determining factor.

    I am so glad to hear you had a nice Thanksgiving!!

  3. getting off the subs is a very, very hard thing due t the half life.. i never, ever suggest opiate replacement therapy to anyone.. why, getting off methadone or the subs are harder and to cold turkey the withdrawals are worse..

    Glad there was no “but” …

    be blessed
    u r loved
    brother Frankie

    • soory about grammar, i have a thing for commas latley.. even looking back at my sermon notes, commas nothing but commas… i have that old sesame street song stuck in my head about,,,,, commas..

    • madyson007 says:

      Well he didn’t go cold turkey thank goodness. He actually got to the point where he was just taking a crumb every couple of days for more than a month and then he made the jump. He still had withdrawals but more like fluey like symptoms for about a week or so.

  4. sue says:

    worry about the drinking-watch it-it’s another addiction to get high

Leave a comment