Such unbearable sadness….

On July 4th my mom hit her head, we took her off of life support a few days later. It broke my heart. J fell apart emotionally but held it together and I was proud of that accomplishment. Six weeks later, on August 16th my dad passed away of a broken heart. It just all seems so unfair but I guess thats what it feels like when you lose the ones you love. I am broken. J remained stoic and clean and for that I am ever grateful. I can’t say that I really paid much attention to J’s sobriety. I was and still am dealing with the death of my parents. Some days are harder than others and some days are just impossible. Today I heard more horrible news.

One of my best friends, Barbara from Surrendering Into Serenity , shared such sad news. Her Anthony passed away yesterday from an overdose. I am just so damn angry and sad. I am sad that a young man lost his life….that my friend lost a person who was like a son to her. I am just so upset that this keeps happening. He wasn’t just a junkie…he was loved! He had a family and friends who will miss him. I think the rest of the world may see’s addicts as invisible or just some kid who OD’d but they are all so much more than that.

Hug your kids….call your mom… and tell your dad he is your hero… because nobody knows what tomorrow will bring. Things can change in one instant… don’t have regrets.

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Such unbearable sadness….

  1. Gal says:

    I’m so so sorry you lost both of your parents so quickly. And learning about the death of Anthony is another terrible jolt. I’m sending prayers, Madyson. May they ease, ever so slightly, the heaviness in your heart. Time will make it all less painful, but it will always hurt. Thank God J remains clean. Many hugs.
    -Gal

  2. Katie says:

    This is so sad, I am so sorry about your parents passing away so suddenly-Life is not fair- also, very saddened to hear about your friends sons overdose-Of course he mattered and will be missed everyday for the rest of his loved ones lives-it is all of our worst nightmares- Glad to hear J is hanging tough-my son is clean from heroin finally after a 4 year spree and I am thankful for each day-someone asked me the other day if I believed in heaven and I thought about it and realize I am cautiously optimistic , just as i am with my sons sobriety. Hugs to you,Maddy

  3. Sheila says:

    It is never easy to lose a parent, let alone two so close together. I am so sorry. I lost my FIL in June and my father in July. It’s hard.

  4. Laura says:

    I’m so sorry!

  5. Liz says:

    Dear Mady.. I am so sorry for your loss. My God bless you and help you thru this terrible time. My prayers are being sent to you. Liz

  6. cy says:

    I’m very sorry to hear this, I will keep you in my thoughts.

  7. Sidda says:

    I am so so sorry to hear about your parents. That had to be so difficult losing one right after another . I will keep you in my prayers.

  8. Syd says:

    Very sad to hear about your parents. Such a great loss. My sincere condolences.

  9. Courtsmom says:

    Oh Mady I’m so sorry to hear about the loss of your parents. Mine are everything to me and are the ones that have kept me somewhat sane throughout our ordeal. I can’t even imagine your pain. I hope there is some peace in knowing they are together again. I was also saddened to hear of Barbara’s loss. There are no words. I’m so happy to hear that J is doing well and you can focus on you. I think of you often always hoping for brighter days. Hugs…Sherry

Leave a Reply

