Top 10 Truths after 10 Years…

A very wise mom once told me…well she didn’t actually tell me, she shared it on her Blog. I really felt like she was speaking to me and it was a foreshadow of what was to come. It was very early on in my addict journey but I often went back to look at it and eventually just copied it for myself. I think it is “10 Truths” that I would tell any parent just starting this sad journey. She no longer blogs but I remember her fondly and wish she knew how profound I found those words and still do after eight years…

Top 10 Truths after 10 Years

1.  Heroin is mean and tenacious. Be prepared for the long haul.

2.  Every junky tries at least once to clean up by switching addictions, usually (alcoholic) drinking.

3.  Addicts/ alcoholics do not want to quit using; they want to quit suffering consequences for using.

4.  Ten years of IV drug use leave irreparable neurological, physical, and emotional damage.

5.  Long term methadone or suboxone maintenance is the best option for some.

6.  Just when you’re ready to give up on them,  Hope whispers, “Try one more time.”  

7. Meet your addict where they are, not where you wish they were.

8. When in doubt, pray.

9.  Err on the side of compassion, but don’t leave your car keys out.

10. Recovery is a spiritual transformation.  Not using drugs does not equal recovery.

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Top 10 Truths after 10 Years…

  1. Gal says:

    Oh, God, everyone of those is so true…so sadly, pathetically, heartbreakingly true. I wasn’t always the most spiritual person, and I’m still not. But I pray a lot. What else is there to do.

  2. Katie says:

    Thank you so much for sharing this-it should be made into a handbook for the new parents entering into the dark side-It says it all.Maybe number 11 should be-No matter how many rehabs,AA/NA meetings, IOP’s,court ordered anything (jail,community service,probation,huge fines, even larger attorney bills,felony records),ibogaine treatments,suboxone,methadone treatments, counseling,pyschiatrist visits,Er visits, parents freaking out on them,crying,pleading,begging,etc-if the addict doesn’t search down to their very core for the strength it takes to get sober,it will never, ever happen..

  3. Andrea says:

    Thank you. Long journey

  4. Jeff says:

    I don’t know if I’m just not finding it or not seeing it or what but your blog doesn’t appear to have a way to contact you directly. So hopefully you’ll see this.

    You have brought up suboxone in the past and you may remember my being a very big supporter of this treatment. The Huffington Post recently released a very long story about the dismal failure rate of traditional – mainly 12-step – treatment with heroin and other opiates. I’ll warn everyone it’s very long. I’ll also say it is rare that I agree with much of anything this often very liberal publication reports or says. In this case they got it so correct its scary. Please take the time to read it and if you feel inclined, pass it to your readers in a future post. It is so spot on I’m amazed. Very well researched, fact based and clear – just very long!

    http://projects.huffingtonpost.com/dying-to-be-free-heroin-treatment

    Hope you are doing well – or at least doing. 🙂

  5. madyson007 says:

    I will publish it in a future post….it is very long but very well written and I agree with just about everything.

  6. Jeff says:

    I know, right? I wonder if the author doesn’t have a close family member so they had personal expierence? If not, they did an incredible job – truly amazing given some of the stuff the Huff Post publish. Hope J sticks with it long enough to allow him to turn things around. I really think it’s the best chance he has! No miracle cure but his best chance.

Leave a Reply

