Feelings…

I am feeling rather calm lately …I am trying hard to really revel in the joy of the holidays. I really don’t want to get caught up in the whole gift anxiety thing. I love Thanksgiving and Christmas but Thanksgiving is all about food, family, and thanks. What could be better than that? I really wish Christmas could be a little more like that. Going into more debt to fulfill my children’s wishes is counter productive to a joyous season.

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Feelings…

  1. Katie says:

    I hear ya! It may be time to change things up in your house-one Christmas morning my older son was counting presents before he opened them up, to make sure all 4 of his siblings got the same amount, he counted 22 presents each, that was 88 hand wrapped gifts and when they were all opened, one of my children said, after they feverishly tore them open , is this all there is? Wow- I put thousands of dollars on credit cards-their dad and I stayed up all night putting bikes and dollhouses together and I realized ,what on earth have we done?So, after that year, we gave them each a 3 gift limit and you know what, they really enjoyed those 3 gifts and appreciated them so much more and now that they are adults, we still do the same 3 gift limit and now with our grandchildren also-I feel much happier about the coming holidays-It was out of whack completely and now it is under control! Happy Holidays and lets all hope for a great New Year with our recovering or not so recovering addicts that we love in spite of it all.

  2. Mary Mac says:

    “And the Grinch, with his Grinch-feet ice cold in the snow, stood puzzling and puzzling, how could it be so? It came without ribbons. It came without tags. It came without packages, boxes or bags. And he puzzled and puzzled ’till his puzzler was sore. Then the Grinch thought of something he hadn’t before What if Christmas, he thought, doesn’t come in a store. What if Christmas, perhaps, means a little bit more.”
    Dr. Seuss, How the Grinch Stole Christmas

Leave a Reply

