Back on track…

We seem to be back on track again…but of course now that I said that it will come and bite me in the ass. I am waiting for locust and pestilence to strike at any time. Here are my two not so little ones spooking up the place! I just love my kids…

IMG_5688.JPG

IMG_5679.JPG

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back on track…

  1. Tori Lee says:

    That is great news! I love the pumpkins – I miss that!

  2. Mary Mac says:

    It is really wonderful to see your family enjoying normal activities of childhood and celebrations of the seasons. There is a very old song with the title……”If you can’t be happy be as happy as you can” ….. don’t you think that rather describes the life of parents of addicts?

    I understand it takes a huge effort but really your other children need you as much, and in many ways more, than J does…….he has made, and continues to make, his choices in life………they are just beginning to make those choices and are very effected by the turmoil J brings to the family.

    I continue to help my son in many ways but I think now it is more in a “hand up” sense than a “hand out” one. If he is willing an able to hang on to my hand I will continue to help and support him, if he lets go……. I will just wait until he is ready to grab on again… I will always be there….. I have to be ……but I will not let him bite the hand again. I will push, pull, prod and praise him but I cannot carry him……. if it worked I would do that, but it just doesn’t work that way As long as J makes progress, (and it sounds like he is going to make his recovery in starts and stops) and spends time without using drugs I think he is getting better. While it is not the miracle recovery you would hope for it is also not the catastrophic decline others endure. He is treading water……. not swimming…… but not drowning either.

    The upcoming holidays are particularly difficult… it seems everyone is celebrating and enjoying wonderful lives while we struggle. All you can do is be ‘as happy as you can’….

    sincerely,
    “the always hopeful mom”
    Mary

  3. DK says:

    Mary this is perfectly stated, thank you. I think I am going to print out paragraph 3 and just read it over and over. I’m a long time lurker of this blog and can relate to Madyson on so many levels. My son just entered a 9 month sober-living after his very first 30 day rehab. I fear I am just starting on this “merry go-round” but I am also forever hopeful and will take your words to heart. Thank you.

    And Madyson, I pray for your family always and hope that J becomes well. Keep writing this blog you are helping more than you know! Blessings…DK

Leave a Reply

