Quite entertaining…

I am taking J to his Suboxone Doctor tomorrow. He seems to be taking his sobriety seriously and that makes me happy. I go back and forth with my feelings. Am I happy? Yes. OH WAIT….happiness eventually leads to crashing disappointment. Just say no to happiness…umm but am I happy? Well, yes indeed I am….I mean NO. NO No no…not going there again.

If you were privy to the workings of my mind you would all probably find it quite entertaining.

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Quite entertaining…

  1. Katie says:

    Be Happy whenever you can! Even if it doesn’t last, it shores up those reserves we need for the future-Plus, one day its the real deal and you would have squandered those fabulous feelings being negative and waiting for the sky to fall! Live life now!

  2. mary says:

    J needs to see you happy. Keep positive vibes flowing to help encourage him

  3. Ron Grover says:

    Sometimes happiness is a daily thing. Live in the moment and appreciate more.

  4. Tori Lee says:

    Anytime my son is trying I am happy and hopeful. Of course we know it may not last but what if it does? Don’t waste time worrying about the “what if’s” be happy and grateful that he is trying! Enjoy every minute of J’s sobriety!

  5. Mary Mac says:

    I am still confused with Suboxone medication. I do think it works, but I have significant reservations with the process. I was under the understanding that it would only be prescribed with an ‘active’ opiate user….. if J has been clean on his own for several weeks would they still prescribe? My biggest concern is giving people, who have a history of not being the most reliable in their choices, control over medication. Suboxone has a very high street value which certainly complicates the equation. My son was on it for, I think, about two or three months. Our agreement, for him to remain living at home, was that I had possession of any medications….. a real ball buster for a 27 year old “man” It is terribly expensive drug, but was mostly covered under his insurance plan. Overall, I think it helped my son but the whole experience, to me, reeked of financial gain ………. Along with the Suboxone my son was given Lorazapan and Florazapan and honestly the first weeks he was more zonked than he was on street drugs. I am sure my son hated my knowing what and when he was taking and my general displeasure with the different drugs but within a fairly short time …….for reasons I honestly would not be able to state………. was off everything. He did, and does, continue to drink alcohol. So I dunno, the more I know…… the less I understand. He is making a life right now, without opiates, so that is a good thing.

    On an interesting side note………. Our local paper has had several articles on the use of opiates and one fellow who was treating addicts. His believe is that addicts should not get into relationships and said “Behind every skirt is a slip”. I actually think, as long as the person is seeing a ‘positive’ person ,quite the opposite. I actually prefer the quote “Behind every successful man is a great woman”. And honestly, sex is one of the wonderful perks of life…….
    My son is actually looking toward a future with his girl and that to me can only be a good thing.
    Mary

  6. Mary Mac says:

    Sorry, I see, he was on from August, his appointment was just for continuing on them. They do seem to break the cycle, giving a person time to function in a normal way. My sons doctor gave the impression he could be on them forever…… not a perfect solution but certainly preferable to the maelstrom he was caught in. Often they are referred to as a crutch….. like that is a bad thing…… which is definitely not true…… a crutch is a wonderful thing…… it allows you to walk!

  7. madyson007 says:

    I am very glad he went back on Suboxone. It’s the only time that he seems clear headed and confident. When he is not on it….I feel like he is just biding his time until he relapses.

Leave a Reply

