I don’t know what to do? Things are not good. I want him to pull himself together. I am questioning J’s mental health. This is new territory.

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to

  1. dorcon1 says:

    As they get further into their addiction they become mentally ill. It looks like bipolar, and sometimes even schizophrenia. If at all possible, try to get him into treatment. Sometimes we parents can bring their bottom up to them, sometimes not. Wishing you strength.

  2. fractalmom1 says:

    I have one addict and 1 schizophrenic. They are nothing alike. His addiction could have stemmed from self medicating to compensate for a mental health issue. Get him to a COMPETANT psychiatrist. Stay away from chain mental health clinics. Mostly they are disasters. Try to get an appointment at a teaxhing hospital. Especially one with dual diagnosis department I.e. addiction/mental health issues.

  3. Sheila says:

    What fractalmom said!!

  4. dorcon1 says:

    My son is in long term treatment. The staff there said you can not diagnosis mental illness while they are in the throes of addiction. They are too similar. My son was diagnosed schizoaffective from a dual diagnosis intensive outpatient hospital before he went there. Now that he is 8 months sober that diagnosis is incorrect. The drugs for mental illness can not work if they are using I was told. Once they are sober, and there are still underlying issues, then medication is recommended.

  5. Erin says:

    I agree with dorcon, I was told the same exact thing they cannot make a diagnosis until they have at least 6 months clean and many times longer than that. My son’s mental state wasn’t stable either as he had been using for over four years but it was the heroin causing it before he was a drug user he had no mental problems at all. In all honesty he didn’t seem himself until nine or ten months clean.

  6. MammaP says:

    My Story is the same as Dorcon & Erin..even though my son was diagnosed at 3 with ADHD..It is hard to distinguish when he is using one from the other…I have been told until they are in recovery for at least 6-12 months..no diagnosis..no treatment..should be even considered or diagnosed.

Leave a Reply

