Friends hurting…

I am so sad to see that some really good people are hurting right now. Please know you are in my prayers… Visit some blogs and send messages of peace, hope and healing. Thinking and praying for all our children.

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Friends hurting…

  1. Dawn M McCoy says:

    I know. It really sucks bad. My heart hurts.

  2. Courtsmom says:

    Hello, another lurker here. I’m ready to participate if you’ll have me. My name is Lynn and I am the parent of a heroin addict. My daughter (beautiful, vivacious, sweet, funny – like all of you, I could go on and on) has turned into someone I don’t recognize.

    I just finished reading from the start and take some comfort in knowing that everything my husband and I have experienced is “normal” in the world of addiction. I too have a long, sad and sordid story but won’t share it all today. Suffice to say, because my husband and I were not on the same page and were at different stages of acceptance, my relationship with my daughter is non-existent. She is my one and only and I can’t bear the thought that I will lose her one day.

    My real purpose today was to come and ask madyson to continue posting her family’s journey. Like others I found your site one night when I was feeling particularly low and went to bed feeling a bit more comfortable with myself and what we are going through. I am at a similar point in my own acceptance/struggle and it makes it just a little easier to see that I am not as crazy as I feel.

    • madyson007 says:

      You made me teary…I guess I just needed to hear this at this very moment. There are moments when I wonder why I still continue to post because nothing really seems to change much, not the sadness or the sometime desperation. Welcome and thank you for reaching out and bringing me comfort too. I sometimes think writing a blog is a peculiar your way to connect but it works and here is perfect example of how.

    • Dawn M McCoy says:

      Hi courtsmom. Welcome to the club. Sigh. My daughter has been an addict now for 15 years. I have her 2 oldest kids, we are adopting finally. She also has a 7 year old and just told me yesterday she is pregnant. She has been on methadone for the last 8 years.

    • Liz says:

      Hi Courtsmom… I’m Liz. My one and only daugter, age 22, is a heroin addict as well. She is currently in prison serving 1 1/3 yrs. for the drug-related death of her best friend. She is my beautiful, smart, funny, charming, etc., but also changed completely when she became an addict. She is currently clean and has been for about 9 months. Our hearts and prayers are with you….. You are not alone.

  3. Lynn says:

    Hi, Ladies. Thank you for the warm welcome.

    Madyson, I’m sorry I made you teary, not my intention at all. Yours was the first blog I found that I could relate to. We have had many of the same experiences and it was reassuring to see that my actions/reactions were normal (or is typical the better way to describe it?) I just don’t understand this world I find myself in – and I DON”T WANT TO!!! I am not an overly spiritual person but I do believe that we have a destiny that may not always be known to us. I believe I meant to find you at a time when I needed you most. Thank you for having the courage to say all the things we are thinking and feeling.

    Dawn, oh how my heart bleeds for you. God bless you for being there for all your children. I’ve read your blog as well and your pride in their achievements shines through. It’s wonderful to hear that there are some positive outcomes to this nightmare we are living. We couldn’t wait for the day we would welcome grandchildren to our lives but Lord, please spare me this burden.
    By the way, I’m also a Northeast Ohioan. It looks like spring has finally arrived – thank all that is good!

    Liz, been there done that but thankfully with a better outcome. She was the driver of a group that included a young man that needed emergency medical attention. Because they couldn’t be involved with the police they left him in a busy parking lot asking bystanders to call 911. Thankfully he survived. Because of cameras in the parking lot my daughter was tracked down, questioned but never charged. I’m not really quite sure why. I suppose it was because he survived but she had other outstanding legal issues so it’s possible it was all wrapped up in one. Coincidentally, she now has a “friend” who is currently awaiting trial for the very same act. Only in her case the young person died. Another victim, more heartbroken parents. Do you think she has any idea how lucky she and that boy are? Nope, no really.

    She recently completed a 90 day sentence for unpaid fines which meant she was 90 days clean. Good news, right? Wrong, it took less than 24 hrs for her to return to her love. Even though my husband and I have made great strides in becoming a united front against this demon my panic attacks have returned. I can’t believe we have to continue living this nightmare. Was it Ron that asked the question, what if it never ends? I really thought it would but I now have serious doubts. Talk about no hope….

Leave a Reply

