Where exactly did she get the information she is spouting as fact?

The disease model also assumes that addicts won’t get better unless they seek expert treatment. In fact, a pile of research shows that most addicts cure themselves. They do so when the price becomes too high – when they might lose a job, a marriage, their kids or the regard of people they respect. Most people who were addicted in their teens and 20s manage to clean up by their 30s. Unlike Mr. Hoffman, most don’t relapse.

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/globe-debate/philip-seymour-hoffman-had-a-habit-not-a-disease/article16847458/

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
Link | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Where exactly did she get the information she is spouting as fact…

  1. Annette says:

    I wonder if she’s been hurt by an addict/alcoholic?

  2. Gal says:

    Oh, for God’s sake! I am home briefly at this moment before racing back to the ICU, where my daughter is being treated for a heroin and tramadol (probably) overdose. Yesterday, I watched her convulse on her bathroom floor for an eternity and turn blue (and unconscious) while we waited for the paramedics. She had two more major seizures at the ER. She had been clean from heroin and other drugs for about 8 months since working hard through a super tough 4-month rehab program last Spring. I watched my 29-year old daughter start to die, but she managed to survive. Right now, as they lower the phenobarbital dose (to keep the seizures from occurring), she has a Swiss cheese memory. She doesn’t remember that she’s taking a university course in accounting (making A’s). She doesn’t remember her best friend. She doesn’t have much of a personality at all. The doctors say her brain/memory should improve. They have committed her to a local mental/rehab hospital that her work insurance should cover. I feel blessed beyond measure that she is still alive. At the same time, I am frightened by what lies ahead. I should mention that the relapse happened after she (with doctor’s permission) weaned herself off of suboxone. It’s so sickening, because, up until two weeks ago, she was doing well in her job, had a good relationship with a non-drug-using, non-enabling boyfriend, and as I mentioned, working her way toward finishing a degree in math. But the addict-behaviors started long before she used. I should have seen it coming, not that I could have prevented anything.
    Sorry for the long spiel, but the paragraph you posted is laughable, at best. Idiot is a nicer word than I would have used.
    -A much sadder, yet relieved, Gal (We live to fight another day.)

  3. madyson007 says:

    I am beginning to wonder if anyone should be weaned off Suboxone if it is actually working.

  4. Gal says:

    Madyson, one of the doctors said she should remain on suboxone from now on-meaning forever, but the addiction doctor says probably 2 years minimum – or monthly naltrexone injections. I no longer care if she takes one of these drugs forever. After more relapses than I can remember and the haunting memory of her choking through those horrible seizures, I just don’t care. Ten years ago, she tested out of most of her freshman college courses. Today we’re worrying about brain damage. Suboxone doesn’t scare me. Thanks for the healing vibes. And thanks for keeping your blog going, so I could purge.
    -Gal

  5. dorcon1 says:

    I don’t know anyone who was on subs who also didn’t abuse other opiates, even if they had the best intentions when they started. If the sub doctor very, very gradually weaned them down when they felt ready, then maybe it could work. Most doctors give the script, and send the addict on their merry way; spending 5 minutes a month with them, charging a bundle and not worrying about patient care or how they are going to eventually wean them off this very powerful opiate agonist. The brain can’t heal if it has artificial opiates. Long term care is essential, as it can take a year or more for the normal opiate production in the brain to return to previous function. Most relapse because of this mechanism. It’s called PAWS.

    • madyson007 says:

      Subs were not a long term solution for J. They were a solution for his withdrawals…that’s about it. However, there does seem to be “some” great success stories with Suboxone for some addicts. My son was just not one of those success stories. If it worked I would have hocked my house to keep him on Suboxone…

  6. Praying for each and everyone of you. I am new to the blog world. The death of Mr. Hoffman compelled me to learn more about heroin addiction. I am a registered nurse of 35 years and realized most of us know nothing about addiction. I have a nephew who has a girlfriend who is currently on Sub. And has a 15 year hx of snorting heroin, as she says. Tough road for them. I appreciate your journeys and your honesty. I am trying to be more intelligent about it. I am a typical codependent enabler, who freed myself from a 18 year marriage, to an alcoholic. With a lifetime of therapy, which I continue periodically today, I have to be so vigilant about enabling them. I pray for us all.

Leave a Reply

