Tick tick tick…

He is home. He called me at 9:40 last night and asked if I could please pick him up. He was about 45 minutes away. He said he had a t-shirt on and jeans, it was cold and please come quick.  I went. I am ashamed to say…I was so happy to see him. Weird right? He looked so good his eyes were so clear and bright just like my J not the alien. At that moment I felt nothing but love right up until reality kicked in…I am petrified to have him home. I slept with my purse and locked up the keys to the cars. He looks like the clean cut handsome young man I trusted…only I don’t. All sorts of promises have already been made and apologies sincerely given but it changes nothing. This time there is no sense of relief that he is clean even for a little while. This time there is a little clock in my head, ticking like the intro to 60 minutes….will the bomb detonate? Or should I just be asking when? I just don’t know. Mean while,  Tick Tick Tick Tick Tick…

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tick tick tick…

  1. Terri says:

    I so get it! Trust doesn’t disppear overnight nor is it regained. I always lock my purse in the car and hide the keys when my son is around. I look at it as a protection for both of us.

  2. Annette says:

    God no that’s not weird! None of us know what tomorrow holds. Today he’s home, today he’s clean and healthy. It’s just as likely that this is “it” as it is that it isn’t. We just have to let things play out and stay out of the way as much as possible.

  3. Laura says:

    I really hope this is the time he gets it!!

  4. JoJo says:

    Thinking of you all, & praying for peace, regardless of what happens. I know exactly what you mean…tick tock, tick tock. My daughter gets out of rehab Friday and I am already worried. Deep breaths.

Leave a Reply

