I feel bad…

for my husband. He is not handling this very well. In his mind he is the “fixer”. It is his job to react and fix things. I keep telling him he does not need to do anything but he remains unconvinced. The “not do anything” is causing him anxiety. Doing nothing is such a foreign idea…it might just push him over the edge. For today we are doing nothing…

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I feel bad…

  1. Annette says:

    Our husbands have their journeys to walk also. We all as parents feel like fixers. It takes so much to break us of that concept and give us an understanding of it being out of our control. All of this discomfort he is feeling is part of his process. We each have to go through it….different times, different ways, but we all get brought, one way or another, through the sheer terror and heartbreak of acknowledging that we aren’t in charge of our adult kids lives. Walk with him, but let him do his thing. He’s in my thoughts today. As are you and J. ❤

  2. Helga says:

    When my girl was MIA, it was even hard not to do anything then. So I understand how hard non-action can be. But every action has a reaction. Just be aware of that. The reaction may not be what your husband is looking for.

  3. Ron Grover says:

    If he needs to talk to another “fixer” 913-909-2810

  4. Suzie Simon says:

    maybe he would go to an alanon or nar anon meeting with you. have him call Ron, he is good people. he has been through all of this with you and with his own.

    I am so grateful to be clean today, prayers for you as always

  5. Tori Lee says:

    I went through that for so long but I would jump in head first trying to fix everything. My Husband buried everything we handled it all very differently. We are finally years and years later pretty close to the same page at least as much as I feel we can be. Prayers for you and your Husband and son.

  6. Syd says:

    I understand wanting to fix the situation. But it really cannot be fixed by anyone but your son. Trying for years to change another or make them stop an addiction doesn’t work.

Leave a Reply

