Pretty much hate everyone right now…

I am such a cheery little thing aren’t I?

My parents and my brother came to visit. My mother spent a good part of the time telling me what I am doing wrong with my family, husband, job, religion, decorating, cleaning, finances and in great detail. Then she told me how to fix them all. Good times!

My brother pretty much told my son what a low life he is and how could he do this to his family…then he preceded to tell me how he raised his kids and gave me pointers every chance he got and he of course helped my mother expand on all the issues in the above paragraph. More good times!

Then my brother refused to come to our house because we have not flown out to see his 8,000 square foot house in the exclusive gated community of Golden. Nor have we seen his Condo in downtown Denver that will be featured in a new HGTV show that will air in January. He rents this condo out to famous professional sports figures. I guess the show is like House Hunter’s for famous people???

On my birthday my brother insisted we go to a place where he might see some old friends. I hated it. I invited everyone over for pizza and cake. He refused to come over. It took me awhile to figure out that it was because we won’t fly to Colorado to see his place.

My mother clearly favors my brother and doesn’t really even pretend that there is any kind of equality in this equation. My father is Switzerland but I feel that he favors me but I am not convinced my brother doesn’t think the same thing.

All in all my life has been filled with positivity and good times…you do know I am being sarcastic right?

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Pretty much hate everyone right now…

  1. Dawn M McCoy says:

    Big hugs. 😦

  2. Ron Grover says:

    Madyson,

    I probably doesn’t mean much but we like you best, we don’t judge you, your family, or your son and I’m absolutely positive I cold be comfortable in your home just sitting and talking.

    Some times I have found the only opinion about me that is important is the one I have of myself.

    Be strong, big hugs.

  3. Annette says:

    Oh Monica. I’m sorry. I can’t quit crying. You are in good company! LOL I wouldn’t invite any of them over again. I would only meet in neutral places like restraunts. It is so painful, discouraging, sucky, when our relationships that are supposed to our safest and most comforting….aren’t. I really am sorry.

  4. madyson007 says:

    I love you guys….like for real.

  5. Aunt of an addict says:

    No matter how old we are, there’s always a part of us that remains our parent’s “child,” and to not have that maternal love and support is sad. Such a toxic time for you right now, when you could use some compassion! I hope your spirit feels the hugs we all are sending your way right now. You’ve been such a help to so many, please lean on us now. May God bless your battered soul, and bring you comfort.

  6. Feel grateful for those you love who have no fucking idea what you are going through- they dodged a bullet, that’s all. I know I wouldn’t wish these feelings on anyone. Of course their ignorance is painful- they have no idea!! And that makes them one of the lucky ones. We aren’t. Your brother is a narcissistic prick. I live in Denver and I would be happy to bust his balls! JK- he just has no idea. oxox

  7. MammaP says:

    I have come to the conclusion some people build up their own self-esteem, by tearing down others!! Pizza & cake..My kinda birthday!! They are the losers here girl!!

  8. Helga says:

    “What other people think of me is none of my business”. Happy birthday, girlfriend!

  9. Syd says:

    I like what Helga and Ron said. So true that I can’t change how people think of me. I can change how I respond to others. The judgers and the boasters want to change you. They haven’t grasped the concept that we can’t change others and don’t even need to try. I like that you can be who you are without apology to anyone. Hang in there. I understand the expectations of wanting others to love and be kind. Sometimes they just don’t know how.

  10. Tori Lee says:

    My favorite is someone who doesn’t even have children telling me what I have or continue to do wrong. Of course it hurts worse when it is a family member but try not to let their ignorance ruin your happiness.

  11. Sheri says:

    We become extremely thin-skinned because of our circumstances . I do it all the time to the point I avoid certain situations . You know who you are, just listen, nod and let that little cartoon balloon inside your head say the shit you wish you could!

  12. Liz says:

    Madyson, I feel for you. People just don’t get what it’s like to live with an addict. Remember back before addiction was part of our lives? We didn’t get it either.. at least I didn’t. I’m STILL struggling! I agree with Sheri, it might be best to avoid situations and certain family members. I think they mean well? (at least they think they do). It will be hard with the holidays coming up, but you need to take care of yourself, your husband, and your kids first and foremost.
    We UNDERSTAND and SUPPORT you. Prayers and Love……

  13. Terri says:

    Times like these deserve a “you may be right!” So many times it shuts that talker right up. But alas I’m late to the party & this will only do you good next time, if you can stomach it. I’m sorry your family feels the only way they can feel good about your world is to try to tear yours down. Life is too short. And what’s up with bro?? Like you have the time, money or inclination to be flying around simply to soothe his ego! Oh, I forgot to add that (totally not program) I like to say to myself “but you’re probably not!” after a “you may be right”. Makes me feel better…hope you do too very soon.

Leave a Reply

