What is this foreign word I speak?

J went to his second meeting in 2 days. Hey….I think I like this!

Important thing to take note of: this is sooooooo different than any other time. Now, J finds the meeting, time and place.  I drop him off and never look back and so far he has gotten a ride home each night. J has NEVER attended an NA/AA meeting without being coerced or threatened and he wanted to get there early so he could talk before the meeting and I needed to hurry up! So forgive me if  I find this new interest in fellowship and meetings a little bewildering.

Sooooooo me being ummm me….. I sat back and just flat out asked him cause I just kinda really wanted to know because well I am his mother and I am cool like that.  J please tell me Why? Why this fabulous interest in going to meetings? Are you being forced by probation or something? Now what is wrong with me? Why can’t I just leave it alone? Why do I need to know WHY????? Why is it any of my business….cause you know what?  It’s not!

Now is it really bad that I loved his response and I was happy that it was genuine? Yeah…no need to answer. I know I don’t belong in any part of his equation. BUT

He said that no one was forcing him. He was going because it was the right thing to do and he needed to go. HE NEEDED TO GO! He also said: You do know mom that going to meetings has been a requirement of my probation the entire two years. In the past, I just wrote down random meetings I had  looked up and picked a fictitious topic. OMG! He is right! That is exactly what he did and could still be doing if he wanted to. AA/NA is anonymous and nobody would be the wiser, including his probation officer. So that means he must be doing this because it is the right thing to do and he CARES!

Wait! Did I just say that? He cares? What is this foreign word I speak in connection with J?

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What is this foreign word I speak?

  1. All I can say is: WOW. Every meeting is a plus. And it sounds like he’s getting it. One day at a time. Amen.

  2. Annette says:

    Why do we need to ask? Because we are human fricking beings….thats why! With my girl, and the more recovery your son gets I bet this will be the case for you too…..they get a chance to be the gracious ones with their fallible parents. My girl, when in a good place, will quietly answer my questions, then gently remind me that “I know you are afraid and worried, and I know you are trying not to be there….but you have to let me figure this all out.” The voices in my head say, “Figure it out? I can tell you exactly what to do next!” Progress is that I just nod my head and say, “I know honey.”

  3. Annette says:

    I am So happy that J is doing this! Each day is a victory! A brick in his foundation of sobriety. I love it!!

  4. SOBERBOOK says:

    SoberBook.com is a safe, anonymous place where ALL people can tell their stories without having to attach a name or face to the words. It is here that you will see chapters about finding recovery, overcoming obstacles, mending relationships, achieving happiness, following dreams, and much more. The goal for SoberBook.com is to create a community of support, camaraderie, and hope for the future.

Leave a Reply

