My how time flies when you are having fun…

They have set a release date for J…he seems to have a plan in place and excited to get home. This is his third rehab and the very first time he has willingly completed a program! 1st rehab we were asked to pick up J because he was unable to comply with the rules. 2nd rehab out in a little more than a week. He told us that was all he needed and all insurance would pay for….turns out that was not exactly accurate. I wish we could afford sober living but insurance will not cover any of it. I don’t know how any one can afford it?

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My how time flies when you are having fun…

  1. That is such good news! My son has been to rehab several times and never completed the program. Leaving early made his sobriety a fleeting thought. Your child is definetly on the right path! Having the tools to stay sober are invaluable.
    Best wishes!!!

  2. Annette says:

    I don’t know who can afford it either. We can’t. Although this time, I have entertained the idea of scraping together enough to pay for one month of sober living which would give her a month to get a job to then pay for it herself. But this is someone who hasn’t worked in years….what are the odds of graduating from rehab and finding a job out of the blue? Yeah…..I don’t know what the answer is. I remember a drug counselor years ago said, “if its meant to be lets see what doors open up.” That was one of my first experiences with waiting and not jumping in and forcing a solution. So lets see what opens up for your J and my girl.

    • Fay says:

      I truly believe if they want recovery they will find it in a twelve step fellowship.I have sat in one of the so called best and very expensive rehabs on family evenings and was astonished to learn all the therapists there had found sobriety in their relevant twelve step groups. If your loved one really want’s to stop they will. There is no need to spend a cent!

  3. Tori Lee says:

    I have seen good sober livings and bad one’s. It is so hard to know what will help or hurt. I hope J continues his work, it sounds like he is making a lot of progress and that is great news.

  4. nbloom says:

    Have you looked into Oxford House? Where I live, the recovering addicts live together in a normal neighborhood home. Each must work and contribute $100 a week. They share chores and monitor sobriety in the house. It is a very successful and affordable program.

  5. Liz says:

    My daughter has lived in a couple half-way houses. Some better than others. They seem to work for her. I don’t make a lot of money, but I paid for her weekly rent by charging it to my Visa. I figured I could afford it for a few months that way in hopes she would get a job and then start contributing to her rent.

  6. Also, check into Teen Challenge (and no, its NOT just for teens). I think its only like $500 a month and they live there for 12 months. This is our back up plan if my J relapses and screws his friend over that he will be living with.
    http://soberforever.net/var-teenhelp.cfm?mm_campaign=d66c9af203226d5fd23f6f6ba16e2413&keyword=Youth-Rehab&utm_source=Google&utm_medium=CPC&utm_campaign=Teen_Challenge&gclid=CPC3_5r-_7gCFepFMgodwG4A9A

Leave a Reply

