I just had the talk…

with J’s girlfriend. She got to speak with J today… the 7 day blackout period expired. She said he sounded great but very remorseful. They both cried a little and when she got off the phone with him she felt such disappointment. Her disappointment stemmed from the fact that he told her he was doing pills and she had no idea he was still doing Heroin. I actually got mad….I don’t really even know why???

Then I realized it was the same reason I say J’s  is an opiate addict!  I know there is such a stigma attached to the word Heroin. Two years ago I would have consoled her and nodded inunderstanding her disappointment. Today I felt insulted hmm….not at all sure this is progress??? I was insulted that she thought people who are addicted to Oxycontin are some how a better kind of addict, that they are a better kind of person. The flip side of that being,  a Heroin addict is the worse kind…a disgusting person, living in the gutter.

Here is exactly how I responded:

People who abuse pills aren’t a better kind of addict or someone you should see as better off just as a heroin addict is not someone you should see as a lower life form.

It’s all the same….oxycodone is legal heroin taken illegally by addicts.

I understand that people see “Heroin” in  that low-life way but it kind of upsets me. Heroin addicts are not the low life people living in the gutter while the pill poppers are the nice people having “issues”. They are all addicts and they are all very ill. There is such a stigma attached to heroin…but if you are addicted to alcohol or pills or pot or meth and its messing up your life then they are all equally serious and equally suck unfortunately.

I think I hurt her feelings but we went on to talk about other and she seemed fine.

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I just had the talk…

  1. Annette says:

    Thank you for that Mads.

    I’m glad your son sounded good and seems remorseful. For today that is progress and maybe it will continue to grow each day. I will be praying.

  2. Tori Lee says:

    When I first started blogging my son was addicted to Oxi’s. I remember reading the other blogs about Meth and Heroin and thanking GOD he was not addicted to that but “only” Oxi thinking that was much easier to get off. Well, within a couple of months the Oxi’s were too hard to get and he moved on to H. For someone who doesn’t understand drugs Oxi’s just seemed better than H if one was addicted. I soon found out that was not the case it was all just as bad. Well, then I thought okay well it is H thank God it isn’t both Meth and H well go figure he went and through the Meth in and E and acid and everything else. Then as much as I have always since I first smelled it HATED weed I wished for the day it was “just” weed.

    The fact that he is in rehab is good, hopefully he will continue to make progress. We just never know when they will get it, I will pray it is this time for J.

  3. Helga says:

    When I first found out that my daughter was a pill addict, I was a blank slate. I knew nothing until someone at Cornerstone of Recovery where we put my daughter told me that Oxi was the most addictive substance, more addictive than heroin. I was dumbfounded, that was in 2004.

  4. Dawn M McCoy says:

    OXI addicts are just addicts who aren’t broke enough…?yet. As soon as they can’t afford oxi’s they go to heroin.

  5. Erin says:

    I still feel shame that my son’s drug of choice was heroin, there is just something about injecting that seems to make it so much worse. Injecting is actually the worst and the hardest to stop doing. My son started with pills and graduated to heroin as most do but I also know of young adults using oxy and they will not do heroin as they feel that popping pills isn’t as bad and even though they are abusing oxys and benzos they still feel that if you do heroin you have reached an all time low. I kind of feel like that too, I’m just being honest. My son told me that they are really kind of right there is nothing worse than injecting thats when it went totally downhill for him. Just for today he has 10 months clean, thank God. Yes, I still feel a great deal of shame about it. I also hate that whenever I see a needle at my doctor’s office that is what I am reminded of.

    I’m so happy to hear that your son is in rehab and is doing well.

  6. Jeff says:

    While I totally understand and agree with much of what you are saying – namely that opiate addiction is opiate addiction regardless of the opiate of choice. Put another way, is an alcoholic that “only” drinks beer better than one who drinks “the hard stuff?” So I totally agree. Where I can’t agree, and also don’t want to fool others or allow them to fool themselves is thinking that heroin is not worse than oxy as it most certainly is – just perhaps not why you think. Just on the basis of addiction they are equal when it comes to the illness of it all, to withdrawals, cravings, life changes, etc. However heroin is way more dangerous and causes many more additional problems. That is because 80 mg of oxy – in the original pill form as most of them come – even on the street – is very likely 80 mg of oxy and nothing else. Taken orally or even insufflated (snorted) does not carry near the added danger of dirty needles, skin infections, and all the issues that come with injecting. More over, you have no idea what might be in that heroin. How potent is it? That’s often where overdose comes from. Is it cut with talcum power, baking soda or who knows what that else that you are then injecting into your body? That is where all of the added danger comes. Unfortunately, like it or not, someone on heroin is most certainly putting themselves at more risk – or at the least, additional risk – than someone taking pharmaceutical pills. Whether taken by prescription or stolen oxy is still regulated by the FDA – heroin is not. Oxy also has legitimate use in the USA, and is allowed for medical reasons – heroin is not. Oxy is a schedule II narcotic – heroin is not, it is schedule I (no medical purpose) Like it or not, there are differences. And it’s hard to argue or defend that heroin is not worse. For sure, it’s very much picking your poison – but even all poison is not created equal.

    • madyson007 says:

      Been meaning to answer this Jeff but just haven’t got the energy for a lengthy rebuttal so heres the cliff notes….I am thinking many Oxy users are not exactly sure where there Oxy came from making it just as dangerous…There are heroin users who are conscientious about how they use… as far as what’s in it well thats a big crap shoot but so is assuming your oxy came from the good old USA.

    • madyson007 says:

      Jeff do you have a blog? Just curious…you can be very interesting umm sometimes.

Leave a Reply

