Our children are not our possessions…

Now you guys may have already figured that out, but not everyone has. One day all children grow and mature. They find their way in the world and come to their own conclusions. Some parents may find that their kids are in perfect harmony with their own thoughts and beliefs. Many more parents will find their children’s views don’t jive with our own.

Raising a child who does not turn to drugs or alcohol doesn’t mean you did a better job parenting, it just means you got lucky. It means that your child made the right choices and that may or may not have had anything to do with you.

Hope and pray that your child doesn’t have surgery that introduces him to a drug he never new existed and suddenly feels he can’t live without. Pray that your child has the strength to say no when offered a toke on a joint in college or a line of Cocaine in the bathroom or any number of scenarios you and I come up with.

YOU! Yes you the one with the self assured look patting himself on the back convinced this could never happen to your family. Guess what it can and it does. This is Russian Roulette you don’t no which child has an addictive personality. If you have an aunt, brother, sister, uncle, parent…your child may have a predisposition for addiction and you better pray extra hard she isn’t introduced to that one substance that flips a switch in your child’s brain that may take a lifetime to figure out how to turn it off.

Nobody raises their kids to be addicts. Our children are not our possessions. They have minds and wills of their own. You can pray, you can threaten, you can lock your kids in the basement, you can send them to Catholic school, you can put them through the D.A.R.E program, you can attend church every Sunday and you can eat dinner every night together…this does not immune your child from developing an addiction. SO, Don’t pat yourself on the back to soon because who knows what the future will bring and it might just bite you in the ass for all your gloating.

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Our children are not our possessions…

  1. Lisa says:

    Amen sista!

    Oh and for the record I’m gonna stand up and admit I used to see parents of addicts as the potential reason their kids were addicted. I was guilty of these thoughts. God showed me!

  2. You hit the nail on the head! the sooner people realize this, the faster we can facilitate a change.
    Thank you-

  3. I couldn’t agree more. Russian Roulette is a perfect way to describe it. My mom did all the right things, and I was an honor student and all around good kid growing up. I just turned too often to alcohol to deal with stress until one day my switch just got flipped, so to say. You never know who what or where addiction will snare. ~ christy

  4. Dawn M McCoy says:

    Pretty much. Judge, lest not ye be judged….

  5. NB says:

    Sadly, that is so true. One thing I’ve learned on this journey, is that there is no stereotypical family that “creates” addicts. Addiction doesn’t discriminate and hits all walks of life. Nobody is “safe.” I’m learning that the more open I am about my son’s addiction, the more people I find who are facing the same problem. Stereotypes and judgmental attitudes have caused such a shroud of secrecy and shame around the whole addiction issue, that many people are afraid to talk about it and suffer alone. I wouldn’t talk to even my own family about my son’s drug use for the longest time because I was so afraid of people judging both him and me. I’m learning though that nothing will change until POAs start sharing their stories.

  6. Sheri says:

    We are NOT their posessions either .

  7. Annette says:

    My extended family has addiction stringing its way all through it. I was terrified my kids would become addicts. I knew statistically that the odds were that at least one of my kids would probably have addiction issues. I have often wondered about the dynamic of we create what we fear. I know “they” say that it’s not our fault….but I sometimes still wonder. Did my fears create this? Just a minute of feeling certain of my kids success and health sounds pretty good! Lol

    • madyson007 says:

      That is exactly how I got the name of my blog Annette! I have had many people ask me why I chose that name or they think I should change it but you perfectly described how it came to be.

  8. Sidda says:

    I know I didn’t cause it but honestly my actions or should I say lack of action and consequences definitely contributed towards the disease.

  9. Terri says:

    Amen, Amen!

Leave a Reply

