Anxiety attacks…

MY 13 year old daughter is having anxiety attacks…like for real. They happen in the morning mostly and they are heart breaking to watch. I am so surprised that J has absolutely no sympathy for her…he thinks she is faking it??? I know she is not faking…they are so real she would do anything to make them stop. I have set up an appointment with a psychologist and I really hope she can help her.

M has been my most challenging child even more so than J. She is very tightly strung and has been since she was an infant. Easily startled as a baby and as she got older she was terrified of bears, vacuum cleaners,  going fast and then vomit. She is SOOOOOO frightened of vomit. In fact, I would say she is down right phobic about it. I just looked it up and apparently it is a real phobia called Emetophobia. It affects her life in the most ridiculous ways…if her stomach is to full she feels panicked that she might throw up. She eats small quantity meals, really more like snacks throughout the day. If anyone is sick in the house, she will go to a friends house or not leave her room. School is a nightmare of possibilities….kids get sick all the time.

She is beautiful, sensitive and very well liked. School is academically challenging and her frustration level goes 0-60 in 2.3 seconds and it is not a pretty sight. The flip side of that is she is the most social of all my children. She collects friends every where…vacations, sports, school, camp. She loves school but not the work part of it only the social aspects of it. If she wants to go to college I of course would totally support her but I don’t think that it is necessarily her path to follow. I really see her in some creative field like photography, interior design, artist, stylist etc… Since she was the tiniest little thing she has always had this innate sense of style that I really admire.

Her maturity needs to catch up to her looks. I really think it must be a little easier looking younger for your age verses looking so much older than you really are. I really think she is done growing at 5 ft 7 in and other children in 7th grade are beginning to catch up….thank goodness. This little chick needs some strategies to help her navigate through life with less fear, less frustration and less anxiety. She is a lot like me in some ways and I can’t help but think growing up in a house filled with addiction is shaping her life. I fear she will turn to drugs looking for a way to calm herself…This may sound dramatic but I am not sure I could survive if another child of mine became an addict or alcoholic.

PS. My surgery is scheduled for May 1st. Please keep me in your prayers. I am really scared. I will be in the hospital for 5-7 days possibly more. I will be out of work for 4-6 weeks but I am really hoping I can get back in 4 weeks.

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Anxiety attacks…

  1. Annette says:

    Wait! What surgery? Did I miss something?
    Thank you for your very very kind comment on my blog today. That meant so much to me. ❤
    My third child has panic attacks and they are awful. Your poor girl. I hope the counselor can help her come up with some tools to walk her way through those times of intense stress and anxiety.

  2. Barbara says:

    Yes, I want to know what surgery too, it sounds serious if you have to be out that long. Panic attacks are horrifying, I think you are doing the right thing for your girl and hope that gets the help she needs to overcome them. I agree – it may be better to look younger than your age at that age, I looked older and it got me involved with boys way too soon. 😦

Leave a Reply

