Why we are different…

Jeff’s comment from my previous post really got me thinking. Why can my husband and I not see eye to eye on the subject of J’s consequences. Believe me when I tell you my husband is not happy with J’s addiction in any way shape or form and he is not at all quiet about it.  Well, I am not happy about it either…then why is this so difficult? When I actually stopped and thought about it I can see where we diverge on many points.

Here is how I think my husband might see things differently then me:

  • It is a good thing that J does not look like an addict
  • He is showered and groomed each day
  • If he is using….I can’t tell
  • He has a full time job and has taken on a second one
  • He isn’t stealing
  • He has no use of any of our cars so I don’t have to worry about that
  • Maybe he really only uses once in awhile

DRUM ROLL PLEASE because here is the BIG ONE:

  • I am a functioning alcoholic…maybe J can be a functioning addict.
  • If my wife can ignore me being a drinker then maybe I can ignore J being an addict.

Here is how I see it:

  • If J uses once every blue moon, once a month, twice a year, only on Sunday or any other scenario he can think of, he is not in recovery…PERIOD.
  • J may not be malnourished, dirty and stinky like he used to be but he still looks like an addict to me.
  • If he is using…I CAN TELL
  • Having a job is not enough, living a life with purpose is more than just having a job
  • He hasn’t stolen but I have started hiding my purse again just because…_______(fill in with any thought you may have)
  • He doesn’t have a car because his girl friend and I drive him where ever he needs to go
  • I know he uses more than once in awhile
  • I don’t drink or smoke or take any drugs EVER
  • I ignore my husbands drinking because I know what I signed up for when I married him
  • My singular goal in life was not to raise an addict and have him die like my brother did…is that to much to ask?

Clearly I do not know exactly what my husband is thinking, so obviously I could be dead wrong about the list I created for my husbands thoughts. However, I can not help but think there is a thread of truth running through every single thing I wrote.

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Why we are different…

  1. Dawn M McCoy says:

    I am thinking you are right…

  2. Sydney says:

    Maybe he needs to move out. It might help you detach a little bit.

  3. Jeff says:

    Perhaps I look at this differently, but personally IF, and that is a really, really big IF, J could use just now and then and not have it effect his life, I guess I would not care. If it were the case that J or anyone could do this, I mean really, what’s the big deal? Again, just talking if here – if J could use once or twice a week and everything else was fine, hell, let him do it. Just because you NEVER use does not mean J should never use. I really believe this. The real problem with all of that is J would be the one in a million person for whom this could work. It just simply will never stay at that level – it just never will – not for J, not for me, hell, not for you – NOT FOR ANYONE. It will just never stay at occasional use. It will progress and all of the other bad stuff will kick in – it always does. There is no such thing as a functioning opiate addict – not for ever anyhow. It works for a while, it works while it works, but eventually it all caves in.

    As for your thoughts about your husband, before I even read it, my chief thought was and is the fact that he too is an addict – and he knows it. It’s amazing how one’s thoughts change. Everyone wants the book thrown at criminals – until they break a law or someone they love does. Then not so much anymore. The disease of addiction is not only effecting J – it’s effecting J’s father/your husband. But you already knew that.

    See Mady… it may have taken a few years but you and I really are much of the same mind – arn’t we? 🙂

Leave a Reply

