Be scared J…1/25/13

We have done the good old ridiculous contract. What parent of an addict has not given this a whirl? I have decided I am going to be ok with this. If J failing a drug test is what my husband needs to kick him out…then I am all for it.  Gee…don’t I just sound so hopeful and full of faith?

I really wish I could feel those things, but I just can’t.  I will have no remorse if I have to put our plan into action. The contract has all the usual stuff.

  • You will submit to a drug test on demand (I have purchased drug tests in bulk…testing will be often)
  • If you alter drug test…I will assume you are positive
  • If you fail to urinate on demand…I will assume you are positive.
  • You will pay $___________per week to live here
  • You will do chores each day these could include, laundry, dishes, yard work etc…without questions.
  • If you raise your voice or swear at your parents you will pay $5.00 for each event (I figure this should be good for pocket money and maybe he will learn to sensor himself, if he doesn’t it is going to cost him a bundle)
  • You will call or text if you do not plan to be home at night
  • You will maintain a job with at least 5 full work days
  • You will pay your own debt
  • You will pay for doctor visits and prescriptions
  • You will need to have your own car insurance
  • When your phone plan expires we will no longer pay for your service

Here’s my favorite part:

When or if you fail any of the above RULES you will need to be out of the house the next calendar day. All though I have great hope that this may work for all involved. I also have serious doubts. I highly recommend that YOU have a plan of action in place if you fail to meet the above terms. I want you to experience what it means to survive in the real world. I will have no remorse in following through with OUR plan of action. Even if that means you are homeless…

Action that will be taken: You can call someone to come and pick you up or I will drive you to ******** NJ and leave you at the ********  Mission here’s the link:  http://www.*********org/  They will provide you with a meal and counseling. They also offer shelter but you must call before hand to make sure a bed is available (973) %%%-0431. If no bed is available I think you can go to the nearest hospital or police station and they must supply temporary shelter if it is below 32 degree’s out.

<sigh> What are the odds this will have a happy ending? It’s a rhetorical question incase you are wondering.

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Be scared J…1/25/13

  1. Dawn says:

    Your husband signed it? Good.

  2. Tori Lee says:

    We have the contract too. We just did it after he relapsed. Ours is mainly drug testing, a curfew and he can’t drive more than 30 miles without our prior consent and he has counseling. I hope it works for you and for us.

  3. Sidda says:

    Just remember with the drug test that heroin is in and out pretty quickly. You can shoot heroin on a Friday and test negative 24-48 hours later. I found that for myself that drug testing was my way of trying to control and uncontrollable situation, but that is just how I felt every situation is different and we all need to do what we are comfortable with. Tried the contract that didn’t work either, another way I thought I could control his disease. I always go back to I didn’t cause it, can’t cure it and can’t control it. Please don’t take this as a criticism I am just sharing my experience and yes of course I still struggle with control.

Leave a Reply

