#17 Stockings and shock…

I am home sick from work today. I am pretty sure I have Bronchitis. I do everything in my power to stay healthy but I can tell you working with young children can be a hazard. I am constantly called to hold a child’s hand or touch something a germ infested hand just touched. The day before my thanksgiving break I bent down to tie a little boys shoe and he sneezed in my face. I said God Bless You and he looked at me with these little blue eyes and said “I am sorry Miss M”. I have been sick since Thanksgiving and can not seem to shake it.

Did I ever tell you how much I love my job? I love that I get to be creative every day. I love that a parent will tell me how their child came home singing a song that I taught them. Every year I do the “Reindeer Hokey Pokey”…you put your antlers in, you take your antlers out, you put your antlers in and you shake em’ all about, you do the reindeer pokey and you turn yourself about…That’s what it’s all about! Then you do fluffy white tail, red nose, front hoof etc…I can almost cry when I watch those sweet little faces singing and dancing.

They are so precious and bring so much joy to me. Kindergarten is one of the best ages to teach. They look at you with adoring eyes and open hearts. I know they trust me like a parent and I would do anything to keep them safe. I understand perfectly why Victoria Soto hid her children and then tried to shield and dissuade the gunman from coming inside her room. I can honestly say any teacher who teaches for the right reason would have done the same.

I know the world sees the Newtown Massacre as tragic but teachers everywhere are deeply effected by what happen. I called in sick last night because I didn’t feel good but after I hung up the phone I had this very cowardly thought…”I have at least one more day before I might have to look into these tiny faces and answer their questions with grace and dignity about a subject no 5 or 6-year-old should ever have to think about.” How can God allow such evil people to exist in the world?

This is not at all what I set out to write about…If you know a teacher, give her hug. They are feeling very fragile now.

On a slightly cheerier note…I love shopping for stocking stuffers! I go through great pains to find relatively inexpensive things that will make them excited and happy. My little ones seem to like all the Christmas looking candy stuff….Like Plastic M&M Men in Santa hats with their bodies stuffed with candy or large plastic candy canes filled with Pixie Sticks, small Lego car sets and flavored chap-stick, mittens and temporary tattoos.

My big kids stockings are filled with things that the always want but I never buy for them like, Crest White Strips, cologne and perfume, funky boxers and Victoria Secret Pink undies, maybe some make-up and usually some kind of chocolate. What do you guys put into your children’s stocking? I am always looking for ideas…

Christmas deocrations

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #17 Stockings and shock…

  1. Terri says:

    I saw fake mustaches in a sale circular. I think that would make a fun family picture. Even the baby could wear one.

  2. Beach teacher says:

    Stockings are big for us. : ). I’ll get back to you on the coneys this year – still in the process of doing them ! My heart was warmed this year when our daughter asked for stockings embroidered with each of their names for her & her new hubby. His family in Australia, where she’s living, doesn’t do stockings at Christmas, & it got to her.

  3. Beach teacher says:

    Meant to say – *on the contents, not coneys. LOL

  4. Tori Lee says:

    I stink at stockings. I promised this year I would be better and I stuffed the kids stockings full of candy that was my bright idea. Oh and lint brushes because neither of them likes lint or dog hair on their clothes. I don’t know what to put in my Husbands. So far I put a StarBucks gift card and these brass collar things for his dress shirts. Well, I will check back and see wht great ideas other people have.

Leave a Reply

