#7 All is calm, all is bright…

You probably don’t know this about me but I am obsessed with outdoor Christmas lights.  Every year I buy and collect things like light up deer, light up wreaths, light up candles for the windows, Icicle lights, snowflake lights and ….wow it is scary how much I could list. My husband isn’t really into the whole decorate the house thing and thinks we are verging on “The Griswold’s Christmas Vacation” territory. I can assure you I am not that bad…umm yet, but mostly because I am on my own when putting up the lights. I LOVE them!

It drives me crazy that I have to fight to get them on because my husband won’t set the timer any earlier than 6:00pm even though it is basically pitch dark at 5:00pm. He is such a control freak!  Sometimes I wonder how we are still married. He has a lot of trouble seeing past the end of his own nose. Little things like turning the lights on at dusk would make me so happy…why does he not recognize things like that? I know that he likes Dr. Pepper so I ALWAYS buy it when I shop. I know that he doesn’t like it when I move furniture around so I try not to and I know that he loves it when I go to bed at the same time as him. Oops that was a little off topic…

One of my most favorite things in the whole world is when fresh snow falls and covers the earth. Everything is so silent and still.  The world looks so beautiful and all things seem possible…like a new beginning. Christmas lights peaking through the snow and slowly melting to unveil a shiny bright sparkle in the dark is heaven to me. I use to consciously try to create a memory every year. I would take J and his sister outside in the dark to look at the fresh fallen snow and bright lights and say “Look around guys we are creating a christmas memory”, it seems so silly now. I wonder if they do remember? I never did it with the younger two, in fact there is so much they missed out on. Life got busier and harder. My parents retired to Florida and I was alone much of the time.

I am praying fiercely that J has an epiphany and realizes that he could choose to wake up tomorrow and begin a new life, one with out the burden of his past. A real live Christmas Miracle for us all to behold. I believe!

tumblr_me8avdQH7b1rgfmr0o1_500

 

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #7 All is calm, all is bright…

  1. Tori Lee says:

    Oh I love the lights too but as the kids have gotten older I have toned it down a lot. I rarely put out the entire xmas village I hand painted almost 20 years ago. BUT, no one else seems to want to help when it comes to the outside lights so I too am on my own….That is okay because I hire someone to help me every year the day after TG and my Husband pays for it. He would so much rather pay someone then climb up on the roof.

    I pray for J too. You never know what will happen that will “sober” them up. I became so desperate that for months I prayed for my son to go to jail. It took a long time but he did and it helped tremedously.

  2. sheila says:

    Why is it that most men want this whole beautiful Xmas decoration thing, but they won’t lift a finger to help?? The last year of my first marriage, I told my husband and L that if I didn’t get some help with the Xmas tree, there wasn’t going to be one that year. No help came, so all we had was the pathetic little $5 purple tree that my husband had bought because it was the color of his football team. Bah humbug!

    • madyson007 says:

      Good lord we could be heading there too…nobody will put up the dang tree and I refuse to take that job on because it will then belong to me until the day I die. So our house looks like “The Griswold’s Christmas Vacation” on the outside but inside we still have no tree up. I will decorate the darn tree just put it up with LIGHTS!! Grrrrrr

Leave a Reply

