#2 Favorite Holiday Movie…and an update.

I LOVE Christmas movies! This is really hard for me to pick so I thought I would break it down into categories…

Favorite Old Movie: “It’s A Wonderful Life” (such a great message)

Favorite Musical: “White Christmas” & “Holiday Inn” (They are so much a like that I can not distinguish between the two)

Favorite Comedy: “Elf” (psssst…I am actually a little obsessed with this movie)

Favorite Movie Quote: Buddy from Elf: “The best way to spread Christmas Cheer, is singing loud for all to hear”.images-3

Update: J apparently thinks I am joking about the January 25th deadline and my husband is humoring me. J continues to spend his money frivolously on all sorts of stupid things. My husband shakes his head in agreement and sounds supportive but I can’t help but think he is humoring me. Can’t wait for that day to arrive…they will both be shocked.

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to #2 Favorite Holiday Movie…and an update.

  1. Gal says:

    If J thinks like an addict, January 25 might as well be August 25. In my experience, the addict is only worried about now. Sorry to sound so negative. You’re headed in the right direction. Love your movie list.
    -Gal

  2. sheila says:

    Hi madyson, have you planned what you will do if that day arrives and your husband doesn’t back you up? One must be able to enforce the boundaries that one sets.

  3. Jeff says:

    Shelia actually hinted at what I was very much thinking. They both very likely think that you won’t followthrough, because you never have. They both figure it is more of the same. So you are more than correct when you say they will be shocked when and if the deadline comes and you stick with it. They will be shocked because they have not seen it before. They are used to you caving. Of course, it makes it all that much harder and more important that you don’t – otherwise you’d be better off not even giving the ultimatum. I don’t know about your husband and your marriage – hell I can barely live my own life. I do know that as an addict J totally needs this. In fact, in the long run it may actually be what saves his life. Hang in there. You are doing the right thing. Just don’t back down. Oh, yeah, and by the way, I agree very much with all the others, don’t give J anything he does not own or have legal right to. It will just be sold, traded, pawned or whatever for drug money.

  4. Sheila says:

    madyson, I am glad that you have thought about it.

    I totally concur with what Jeff says. I spent hours last night reading about setting and enforcing boundaries, as I am having a big issue right now with an important person in my life. The lesson I have to learn is that I must be willing to follow through on the consequences I have set out, and then DETACH from the outcome while I wait to see how the other person behaves. The waiting is so hard for me – I start speculating and worrying. I have to remember to respect myself enough to do what I need to do for ME, and respect the other person enough to let them make their own choices too.

Leave a Reply

