Suboxone suggestion…

Public Service Announcement: the following is my personal experience. I speak only for myself. I know and understand Suboxone works for some addicts. It did not work for mine and that is what I am speaking on. I AM PRO_SUBOXONE if used properly.  Never did I express in this post that you are not clean on any kind of program. My personal direct experience is the following story.

You can see I felt much differently about it in 2010. I wrote a whole post on it called “No Controversy…” https://madyson007.wordpress.com/2010/02/ I knew it was controversial then and I should not be surprised that it still is. To this day it is one of my most frequented posts…people must google it and click on it??? 

 

He has tried Suboxone. I actually thought it was the answer to J’s problem. Suboxone is a wonderful tool ONLY if the addict is highly motivated and wants it to work. Suboxone is also a crutch and allows the addict to use with less consequences. I don’t trust it for J anymore or believe it will be J’s miracle. It is highly addictive and extremely coveted by addicts which makes it valuable. It can be sold and traded.

Addicts are able to use go through withdrawals for a short period use suboxone and have some “clean time”. Then stop using suboxone wait the proper amount of time and then use again. Someone told me a name for this cycle but I can’t quite remember what it was called. I think it’s called Washing. J evidently is very disciplined not all addicts are. He is able to wait in between to prevent precipitated withdrawals…umm cause he is talented like that.

This is a quote from one addict talking to other addicts:

Hey im wondering are there a lot of you who alternate between dope and Subs all the time ? I find that it is a lot easier to continue using dope for a long time when you have access to Suboxone all the time as well , and it also eliminates many problems that come from using that you normally would have
1. you dont have to worry about being sick as long as you time it right (use dope all day and then you can jump back on subs that next morning )
2 you dont blow all your cash on dope because you have subs which can last a long time ( 8 mg pill could easily last 4 days )
3 if you decide to get clean , you can ween off subs and not have to go thru kicking dope cold turkey

Suboxone is not a miracle for everyone. It is a tool that can change your life if you use it the way it was intended. If not it is a curse. Addicts can be weak and temptation is great. They need to be highly motivated…living in our house=no need to be motivated. It could be something he might want to try when he is desperate for sobriety. This time on his dime.

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Suboxone suggestion…

  1. onemomtalking says:

    I was a fan of suboxone at first, when it looked like it would keep my boys from using heroine and least keep them under a doctor’s care. But if you asked my oldest now, he’d tell you no, don’t go with suboxone. Go with full recovery. Both my boys had to detox and get off suboxone and that wasn’t easy either. It works for some people. But certainly not for all. I have to agree with you on this one. Also, I’m behind you on your letter to J. You are standing firm and it is the only thing you can do. Praying for you and yours!

  2. Debby says:

    I left my comment on the wrong post. Here is my son’s story. He is using suboxone, has almost tapered down to nothing and has not used in 11 months. I’ve been told I’m kidding myself, and he’s not clean. Really? He hasn’t bought drugs. Has kept his job. Always has money. Those homies are out of his life, and he is a respectful and normal kid again. http://howismyson.blogspot.com/2012/02/candid-interview-in-my-sons-own-words.html

  3. Sidda says:

    I really hate it when parent bloggers trash suboxone, I mean what doesn’t work for one individual can and does at time work for another. If used properly it can work it has given many addicts back their life and yes they were motivated to stop using dope. It does need to be combined with treatment, e.g. inpatient, outpatient, counseling, etc. I have heard many success stories. Recovery is a personal journey there isn’t a right or wrong way, it is up to the individual, I will not say that any certain way a person works their recovery is wrong. I’ve said it before there is no magic bullet, each situation is different.

  4. madyson007 says:

    WOW! You all need to go back and read my post. Suboxone is a miracle for some and a curse for others. If it works more power to you! I will pray for your continued success. I am also NOT a person who thinks you are not clean if you are on Suboxone. All I said is that you need to be highly motivated because Suboxone most certainly be abused.

  5. Gall says:

    I was such a strong proponent of suboxone, and I’ve argued for it on these blogs. My daughter did well on it for many months in between one set of relapses. Who can argue against anything that keeps an addict away from the need for ever-increasing amounts of heroin? The way I saw it (and still do, to some extent), I much preferred her to stay on suboxone even if it had to be for the rest of her life, because it meant she was ALIVE! While on suboxone, my daughter ended up having to have emergency surgery for an abcessed gall bladder, and the suboxone complicated things. First, none of the pain medication worked properly, both while waiting for surgery and after. She handled the pain better than I would have, but, ultimately, she relapsed again not long after her surgery. I’m sure it was because of a variety of factors, including the fact that she’d been treated with necessary pain meds.
    Over the last 8 months, in which she has been working so hard at recovery and deeply involved in AA, she’s admits to her first truly clean months for almost 10 years. And she views it that way. Had she had the commitment to really work a program during her time on suboxone, it could have been a healthier crutch for her and possibly more successful. Recovery under any circumstance is such a slippery slope, even after the passage of time, but I have come to have very little hope for any kind of true recovery without the addict working a program for the long term. One thing my daughter has said to me repeatedly, “if I don’t go to meetings, I’ll use.” To all the parents of addicts out there, my thoughts and prayers go to you. And I so appreciate what I’ve learned from you who’ve had more time at this than I have.
    -Gal

  6. Speaking of Suboxone, my younger son just called and said he wants to go back on Suboxone because he can’t seem to stay clean without it. It’s not my call anymore. I told him to make the best decision he can and I will pray for him. It’s his life. Prayers for us all.

  7. Carla says:

    Thank you for this perspective. My 21yo son is a heroin/oxy addict. We just kicked him out of the house (for the third and probably final time) on Sunday – he was caught by my husband stealing $100 from him (he has stolen SO much money and so many things, including my wedding ring that he pawned). I understand that he is an addict, and this is not “him” but his addiction causing this behavior. I am heartbroken, as i’m sure you understand. I have been reading addiction blogs today, and actually called a local Suboxone clinic just a couple hours ago for information. My son has been in rehab once and relapsed 3 weeks after he finished. I just don’t know what to do anymore. Where does tough love end and abandonment begin? How do you live with knowing your child is living on the street and hungry? I know in my head that these are all consequences of HIS choices, but it doesn’t make it any easier as his mom to deal with. Maybe Suboxone is the miracle we are hoping for? I wish I knew the right answer….

    • madyson007 says:

      I hope it is your miracle. The only thing I can say with absolute certainty is: if he does not want this and is not highly motivated it will not work. I am sorry this is your life right now and I also struggle with abandonment vs tough love vs boundaries. I think one of the issues with Suboxone is there value on the open market. I thought I would put myself in charge of his Suboxone but I did not want to be entangled in his life and decisions like that. I also suggest he tells no one that he is on Suboxone. Addicts will pay big money and trade opiates for them….they will continually contact him trying to make a deal.

      • Carla says:

        Thank you for your reply. I know it has to be him – HE has to want it. He says he does, but his actions at the moment say different. He had a chance to go back to the rehab facility he was in before – all he had to do was call every day to see if he could get a bed. He called for about a week every day, then stopped. Coincidentally, he stopped calling just a couple of days after we let him come back home the last time after we had kicked him out. It’s too easy for him to just use and do whatever he wants to do when he is living here. Now that he is out again, and not allowed back maybe he will finally say enough is enough. One can only hope. :-/

  8. I just blogged about our Suboxone disaster. As I was kicking him out of the house after finding out he’s selling the Subs for the real stuff, the only thing he took was his phone charger and he asked for his Subs. So I threw the whole bottle at him and said, “Here, go do whatever the hell you want with these.” NEVER AGAIN. The ONLY recovery I will accept from now on is COMPLETE recovery with no Suboxone. In my son’s case, Suboxone did NOT work. For those of you that it is working for: God bless you all. That’s terrific!

    • Sidda says:

      I’m so sorry about your son. Suboxone is not a miracle drug, when it is taken as prescribed combined with inpatient and outpatient rehab and of course the key thing is that the addict has want to stop, it can help. I wouldn’t say that the medicine did not “work” it is really more along the lines that the addict never had any intention of really stopping, I’ve been there with my child. I wouldn’t tell people not to try it when I say people I mean the addict as the addict has to choose what path they will take to recover, not us, I’ve done that too, it did not work. I no longer choose what my child needs to do to recover, it has been working much better when left in his/her own hands. We didn’t cause it, we can’t change it, and we can’t cure it, I know you have heard this but this is something that I need to remind myself of on a daily basis.

  9. Dawn M McCoy says:

    How is it going?

Leave a Reply

