My life in bullets….

  • I experience the repercussions of addiction everyday
  • It scares me that we all think this shit is normal
  • J is still J
  • My husband is still my husband
  • I will never again experience that carefree belief that all things are possible
  • Children can bring great joy and great pain
  • I am not an emotionally healthy woman
  • I am sad more often than not
  • I feel stuck in a not so good place
  • I am tired but can no longer rest peacefully

How do I get out of this place?

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My life in bullets….

  1. Sheila says:

    Oh madyson, my heart aches for you. I have been in that place of which you speak, and it feels miserable, but you can get out of it.

    For me, working really hard on detachment was how I got out of that awful place. I know you have mixed feelings about Alanon, but they have some really good essays on detachment. If you’re interested, I will dig out a web link or a book title for you. Let me know.

    I try to remember that my emotions belongs to me, and I try not to let other people dump their miserable emotions on me. A couple of visual images that help when I’m being dumped on – I think of myself as surrounded by a big mirror, or a plastic bubble, and their negativity and toxic words and actions just bounce back or slide off.

    I believe that I have the sacred right – and the sacred obligation – to discern my path in life and to make choices that will allow me to go along that path. Other people also have that right and obligation. Sometimes I don’t like their choices, and sometimes our paths diverge so much that we don’t walk together any more.

    Hugs to you today,
    Sheila

  2. Helga says:

    Madyson, the only person who can change anything is you. It sounds like you are in desperate need of some counseling/advice. A clergy person, counselor, etc. may give you some guidance. I know how hard it is, but it is possible if you are willing to explore alternatives. My counselor asked me what the worst case senerio would be if I took action. Once I figured it out, the rest was not so difficult anymore. I wish you luck. Hugs, Helga

  3. ruby tuesday says:

    Hey there,

    I am a recovering heroin addict and my mother goes to Alanon for support.
    They say it is a family disease and everyone needs to get well not only the addict

    Good luck x

Leave a Reply

