The old me…

I have less than a month of school left before SUMMER VACATION! Time of course is ticking by at a snail’s pace but I can see the light at the end of the tunnel! Gosh I am just a fountain of imagery and figures of speech. I was also offered a contract for next year which is saying a lot because not everyone was. For the first time in 16 years I have worked at this school enrollment is down. In fact we have shrunk considerably. There are many reasons for this like the economy, people are stagnant, houses are not selling, new families are not moving in, current families are aging, competition and the list goes on.  I didn’t think I would not be offered a contract but I was not so sure that my hours would remain the same.

The interesting thing about this is, I was ok with working part-time. I am not sure 5 years ago that would have been the case. I would have obsessed and worried about this until I worked my self into a tizzy. I would have taken it personally and immediately wondered if I could survive this tragedy. This new person I have become instantly realized this was not in my control. Loosing my job or my hours getting cut would not have been a reflection on how I did my job. It would have been about circumstances that were beyond my control. The new me knows there are things that are far worse than getting hours cut, the old me would not have been able to reason that. I sometimes miss that oblivious old me but I recognize how much I have changed and some of it is definitely for the better.

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The old me…

  1. Its amazing isn’t it, what you become grateful for. That’s one thing that has been good about this disease is that it’s taught me a lot about gratitude, and the importance of family first, and unconditional love. Glad to hear you will be keeping your job!

Leave a Reply

