I am going to scream…

if one more person inadvertently or blatantly says “Raise your kids right and there won’t be a problem…” “Talk to your kids at the dinner table about alcohol, sex and drugs…and it will be fine”. Guess what naive parents? You should all know that this is such a bunch of bull shit…just sayin’.

This has been an important public service announcement. You can now return to real life which can be ugly no matter how well you raise your children.

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I am going to scream…

  1. Sheila says:

    Yep, it’s total bullshit alright.

  2. Dee says:

    I’ll scream with ya!
    But 5 years ago I was dumb enough to believe it…

      • Sheila says:

        Sadly, I remember sitting smugly through the “Not My Kid” presentation at my daughter’s high school years ago. I had done all the talks, she had said all the right things, I wasn’t worried. Ha. A few years later, my life was turned upside down when she became a drug user with mental illness as well.

        There is wisdom in the saying, “Never judge anyone until you have walked a mile in their mocassins.”

  3. Beeachteacher says:

    Thank you. Well said ! We did all of that.

  4. Connie says:

    Oh my gosh you’ve hit the nail on the head with this one! My boss does this all the time and it drives me crazy.

  5. Barbara says:

    I’m screaming with you. It doesn’t hurt to talk to them – but HELLO! We all raised our kids right and talked about it and here we are. I think it makes people that don’t have addicted kids feel good, like they did something right and we somehow didn’t.

  6. Momma says:

    Yes, yes, yes to all of you! I scream with you!

  7. ellen says:

    I’ve been saying this for years! Finally, someone else–many parents obviously–realize what a crock that crap is. I just stumbled on this blog, but I just had to comment on this post even though it’s kind of late to the party, so to speak. Such a relief to know that other parents have “done all the right stuff” and still ended up fighting the beast of addiction with a child. Thought it was just me.

Leave a Reply

