What is this serenity you speak of…

Spring Break is a lovely thing…just got back from Ocean City Maryland! My daughter’s team did the best they have done this entire season…it was so wonderful to be there for that special moment. A little one on one with my not so little girl was awesome. She is growing up so fast, she is truly beautiful. I worry about her lack of confidence and her ability to adopt the absolute worse scenario before even looking for a brighter side to things. I wonder if this is a product of growing up in a household with an addict and an alcoholic?  She seems to travel around with a little rain cloud over head waiting for lightening to strike at any moment. Was I like that when I grew up? I think I might have been a bit like that, but in a sunshinier kind of way. Wow, that makes no sense but some how it does to me.

My dogs missed me, the house was clean and the laundry was done! It’s the little things in life…know what I mean?

I am praying a lot lately, seeking answers for us all…searching for a little more peace with life as it is right now. I think I am working on a step without even realizing it? Is acceptance a step? Everything seems a bit of a dead-end now. I don’t like when I lose faith. Hope still lingers but it is not in the spot light at the moment. Isn’t there suppose to be some serenity in acceptance?

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What is this serenity you speak of…

  1. Syd says:

    Admitting that I am powerless over other people is the first step. So in a way, it is about accepting my powerlessness. No more trying to control others. That helped me so much to finally understand that I could not change another.

  2. onemomtalking says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed your trip! Also, my daughter is the same way and I’ve wondered the same thing about it … I think it is related to her helplessness during the crazier time when her brothers were using. But we may never know for sure, I guess, if they would have been like this anyway. As for serenity … I have more now than I did before and more often. From what I’ve seen of you here, maybe you do too. It comes and goes.

  3. sheila says:

    I know lots of people who do the worst case scenario thing, including myself at times. I don’t think it necessarily reflects being raised in a household with an addict or alcoholic.

    Acceptance, or as I prefer to call it, detaching with love, is the key to serenity, IMO. It takes time, and practice, and as the above poster said, it comes and goes.

Leave a Reply

