I am not paranoid…

I am just totally creeped out. I get any where between 50-150 visitors a day. If there is chaos in my life that can go as high as 250 visitors a day. I just happened to click on my dashboard today and noticed that on March 20th the graph had this big spike! I had over 500 visitors that day. I don’t usually look at these numbers because they stay relatively the same. Why just on that particular day did I have over 500 visitors?

I have this creepy feeling that somebody either linked me to a site or talked about me in their blog or I ended up on some crazy blog list. I am not paranoid I swear! I just know you are all talking about me. :o) Has this ever happened to you? When my numbers stay relatively the same it feels safe and cozy, like all my usual friends are checking in. This spike in numbers makes me feel less safe and it is a whole lot creepier. Which one of you guys is talking about me….just sayin’. :o)

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I am not paranoid…

  1. onemomtalking says:

    I had a spike right around March 22 – about 200 that day (since I haven’t been posting, my daily readership has gone down a bit – used to get that many regularly). I was able to see that someone signed on and read every single post. So that could be what happened to you – and it’s right about the same time. Maybe there’s a new parent out there who found one of the blogs and then linked to another and is reading our whole stories? My best guess. Either that or someone else (not me of course, lol) is talking about you.

  2. Ron Grover says:

    I think it is just another parent that is searching for help reading everything. I have it happen to me about everyday. Cruising along on dashboard with 5-10 an hour and then one hour it goes to 70. You look at the post that are being hit and you see a whole list of 2009 posts.

    I met a person that did that. I got an e-mail from a mother that found my blog by googling parent of an addict. She read and read then realized I lived in KC area and she was in Shawnee. Her daughter is a heroin addict and dealing and she wanted to talk to someone so Darlene, myself and my reader met at a restaurant for dinner last night and talked for over 2 hours. I have met several people in KC this way.

  3. madyson007 says:

    I bet you are both right! I feel much better now.

    Ron that is so kind. I would love to do the same and help someone in person but then I would have to give up my secret and I am not sure I can do that.

    Pssssst…I knew it was you Kay! My ears were ringing. LOL

  4. Barbara says:

    Hang on, let me go check my stats. Okay, I’m back. My last big spike was when I talked about my hair! I agree its odd when it spikes, but I agree with Ron. I also met someone local recently, a mom with a son much like my son. We are meeting for coffee soon. I chose not to be anonymous but I respect your choice to do so and think its a wise one. If you want me to talk about you I will – but it will only be nice things!

  5. sheila says:

    I haven’t done it with your blog, but when I find a post that I really like, I will share it on facebook. Let’s face it, a public blog is available for anyone to read, so why be surprised when people do?

  6. homedrugtestkit says:

    I think we are all paranoid. Usually I am paranoid when I get very few visitors. I had a spike this week, but I was talking about Madonna, and I guess a lot of people want to know what’s going on with her. I had a day last year where I wrote about Austin Box dying of an overdose and had like 1,200 views in one day. I think timing is everything. Get in early on a topic, and you pull in a lot of readers. For me, it’s about the quality of readers (like you and Barb), not the quantity!

  7. lauren says:

    I sometimes check your blog more than once to see if you posted. This is not pertaining to your post but about your son and a job. Has he tried Labor Ready or something liek that in your area. In our area you need to go about 6am and it is manual labor jobs. They do spike in need during the spring and summer. You work if there is work, also some companies get thier workers from there if they feel you are doing a good job. Just a thought.

Leave a Reply

