I can’t give the details…

but some of my original long time readers might remember the other saga that almost made me end up with an honest to goodness nervous breakdown. We were and still are being sued by our neighbors. Their little girl who was 8 at the time broke her arm at our house. She accused my son who was 4 years old at the time of pushing her. They are suing my then 4-year-old for assault and battery and us for everything they can possibly think of.

Our home-owners insurance co.  hired a lawyer to defend all of us. The insurance company has paid “neighbors” all medical expenses associated with the injury. Our neighbors are not satisfied with this…they want more, apparently much more. They have gone into mediation twice and their lawyer will not settle. Our “Neighbors” are desperate…husband lost a job because he embezzled money and took a big pay cut to work for an insurance company…hmm???? Financially they are in trouble.

Mean while, we had been sent papers from our insurance company stating that if there was any malicious intent accidental or intentional, we would not be covered. The news I heard today let me take a deep breath… I didn’t even realize I was holding.

Some where in this 4 year battle, a VERY sane judge decided recently that you can not sue a 4-year-old for assault with malicious intent. Go figure???

Today we received a letter in the mail from our Insurance Co. saying that do to recent discovery in litigation, it has come to their attention that coverage will be complete without any clauses. Basically removing the biggest thing hanging over my head. They will not be able to sue us for our house and cars and 401K and anything else they were thinking about.

I actually cried after reading it. My husband looked at me like I was crazy and said “I never really thought that was going to happen anyway…well there ya go. I am the only kook who thought we could be homeless.

All of this happened at the HEIGHT of J’s early addiction. I thought I was going crazy and at one point was hoping I would end up in the hospital so I could escape the pressure coming from all sides. It was sooooo bad….I am not sure I can adequately describe the feelings I was having. I never considered suicide or anything but I did consider quitting the job I love so I would never have to leave my house or talk to anyone in my neighborhood. No joke…

For more than a year my sweet little boy and younger daughter could not sleep without us in their sight.  Some neighbors were compassionate but many were judgmental and to this day, we are still known as the family with the little boy who broke a girl’s arm. Today my little boy is 8 and that little girl is 12 and still friends with my daughter. We have never actually shared anything about the law suit with our younger children. I  pray we will not have to, but there is a chance we could all get called in to court. Litigation starts in May, please say a prayer that this ends peacefully without causing trauma to any of the children involved or me for that matter.

This is an overly simplified explanation of a very complex event but it’s the best I can do.

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I can’t give the details…

  1. what assholes, i mean my god. its almost like you want to write life a letter that says “Dear life, when i say ‘things could not get any worse’, it’s not a challenge!!!”

    sometimes people just suck.

  2. renee c says:

    I remember this very clearly thinking isn’t. j’s addiction and recovery enough to deal with. Your blog got me through those days and I prayed for you them and again you are in my prayers. Some people amaze me with their selfishness.

  3. Syd says:

    I hope that all works out. It’s good to think positively. Hopefully, this will be behind you soon.

  4. lauren says:

    You are one strong woman. Sorry you are going thru this, you wonder how some people can sleep at night with themselves. One thing that really stuck out to me is that you did not share it with your younger children. That is wonderful..I probably would have been bitchin for weeks to everyone. That is an example I am going to follow. Thanks!

  5. Dawn M McCoy says:

    Thank God!

  6. Barbara says:

    OH YES I REMEMBER! THIS IS GREAT NEWS! I remember wondering how you were holding up with so much sh*t going on at once! 🙂

    Just breathed a big sigh of relief for you!

  7. VJ says:

    I can’t even imagine, I have never heard of such a thing. Crazy!

    You handled this very well.

    You are appreciated.

Leave a Reply

