My littlest one…

has the FLUE! Poor thing is out for the count. He has had a fever for three days that no amount of Advil will break. He keeps telling me his bones hurt and just lays on the couch and moans…I feel so bad for the little guy. I am also terrified that I am going to get it. I KNEW I should have gotten that flue shot!

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My littlest one…

  1. Pam says:

    Ok so I did what you suggested and I went to your beggining – I have spent the better part of the last 24 hours reading every word of your journey. The pain and the joy and the fear and the doubt. On some level I feel it was destiny that I found your words and I thank you for your courage in sharing your story. My son N was just re-admitted to an in-patient detox where he will spend the next two weeks (finally some sleep for me) and then he will most likely go to a long term facility for the next three months. The hardest part for me has been letting go of my expectation of what his life should be. I’m not saying he wont get there eventually but it will be a much longer harder road. N is still in high school (or at least he was until this morning), 10 weeks to graduation and he is not going to make it. Not this spring anyway. I am just very grateful that he has accepted that this is what he needs and hopeful that it “takes”. Thanks to you I am going in “eyes wide open”

  2. madyson007 says:

    So you read the good, the bad, and the ugly. I think the most painful thing was grieving the dreams I had for my son and oh boy did I grieve. A wise woman named Dawn told me I should seek grief counseling and she was right I should have. I literally made myself sick, I could not keep food down. I ended up losing 35 pounds in 4 or 5 months. I can tell I am healthier because I have gained half of it back…much to my disappointment. LOL The least I could be is skinny and miserable!

    I will pray for you that this is the end of his active addiction but I want to warn you that it might not be. Young adults often fail multiple times before they realize that they are not smarter than the drug. Opiates are particularly bad. Trust your gut…I kept telling mine to shut up because I wanted a quick happy ending. There is nothing quick about recovery.

    I understand connecting to a blog. There were a few that really spoke to me as well and I continue to read them everyday. Blogging really helped me. I was able to put the words and feelings on the page and it relieved some of the pressure. I was trying so hard to stuff my feelings down inside, I would vomit a lot…I stopped when I started to blog. Try it. It might bring you some relief, not to mention a bunch of parents who will become your best friends.

  3. Dee says:

    Madyson – Isn’t it odd that the flu is hitting so late this year. I hope your little guy is better soon.

    Oh Pam – My prayers are with you and your son.

  4. madyson007 says:

    Pam I want to add one more thing…

    to this day I regret not pulling J out of school in January when we found out he was using opiates. We forced him to stay and finish out his freshman year at a competitive college. Even when things were falling apart my husband and I still were in denial that a kid with a 3.65 college GPA could not possibly be an addict. How wrong we were…what good will that year of college do him now?

  5. HBSad says:

    Just my two cents, but you had every right to be totally concerned that you could lose a lot in that situation. We live in such a litiginous society…. even if you are in the RIGHT on any given issue, you can be driven to abject poverty DEFENDING yourself. The fees for all things legal are unbelievable to the point of ludicrous. I used to think my husband was nuts for carrying all the insurance he could get his hand$ on, and for being compulsive about clearing snow from sidewalks, and rarely transporting children other than his own very far….. I no longer feel this way. Our most recent experience was a friend whose bipolar son was having a difficult episode, raced out of the house in a bit of a fury, grabbed his own keys to his own insured car and tore off to go to work. He plowed into someone’s car on the way and was angry and irrational at the scene. Any and all expenses have been covered, but….. the parents are being sued for allowing (!) their 250 pound 36-year-old son to leave the house in that state of mind. He is a tax paying, employed and medicated individual who is NOT under any sort of managing conservatorship. And THEY are being sued?! Things are just too weird these days, for this old lady. I will continue to keep you and your family in my prayers, and I hope this situation resolves with no further distress for you!

Leave a Reply

