We interrupt the previously scheduled blog…

for this important news flash: My youngest daughter almost has her back hand spring on floor!

I have two daughters who could not be more opposite of each other in every way. My oldest daughter is kind of sun shiny with a positive attitude, that takes her far. My younger daughter comes from the “glass half-empty” school of thought and often walks around with a rain cloud over her head. My oldest daughter has always been the most beautiful little thing you have every seen. My younger daughter has grown into the most beautiful long tall thing you have ever seen but was not always seen like that.

I wanted each of my daughters to find their own special path in life and went through great pains to treat them as individuals. Oldest daughter became competitive gymnast…she is built like a gymnast. She is flexible, strong and persistent in her drive to succeed. My younger daughter has always been off the chart in height, I was secretly kind of happy about that because I knew gymnastics was not in her future and steered her clear of that hoping to find her own special path. We tried soccer, dance, ice skating and assorted other activities.

Well fast forward to the age of ten: Younger Daughter: “Mom I think I really want to be a cheerleader” Me: “Really? Tumbling is really going to be hard with your height” Younger Daughter: “I really want to try it” Me: “It is a really big commitment and you will have to commit to the whole season. In cheer the team depends on each person and you can not walk away if you change your mind” Younger Daughter: “Mom, I know!”

I really did not want her to cheer. I thought she would be at such a disadvantage with her height. At 10 years old she was 5 ft. 1 in. I thought she would give up after a couple of weeks.  I thought she would end up hating it and I would have wasted a ton of money. Competitive all-star cheer is not an inexpensive sport. Well, she proved me wrong! She has to work very hard to keep up with most of her team mates but she has improved so much and now at 12 years old and 5 ft. 6 in tall she almost has a back handspring! In the cheer world that it is a very big deal.  I think she has finally learned what her sister learned at 5 years old…if you work hard at something you can achieve your goals. What an invaluable lesson for a child to learn…worth every penny.

and now back to our regularly scheduled program…thank you and that is all.

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to We interrupt the previously scheduled blog…

  1. Annette says:

    Awwww. I love it when they find their niche. You are such a good mama for teaching them that they each will have their gift and then allowing them to explode into bloom in that gift by supporting them, paying for them (yes, cheer is so expensive!!) and cheering them on. I hope she gets that back handspring down soon. :o)

  2. Annette says:

    That should have been a smiley face….I don’t know what THAT is that came up though. lol

  3. Barbara says:

    What’s so impressive to me is that she knew at 10 she wanted to cheer and two years later she’s still at it!! You should be very proud. I know your daughters are beautiful, I think I saw a photo of them once (or am I dreaming?). They each sound like very special young ladies. Yep, cheer is expensive, but worth every penny. A back handspring…wow, that is amazing. I am always in awe watching cheer!

  4. Momma says:

    I was a gymnast about a million years ago, and not a very good one. Never could master the back handspring. I love it when a kid does something like this. Cool, cool, cool!

Leave a Reply

