I am in this ridiculous fight…

with some lady person on Facebook. I wish I could tell you my name and then you could all go leave messages and defend me. LOL That would be way to much information to put out there in internet land! Privacy is what enables me to blog from my heart.

Here is what she put up on FB: Whitney Houston had a drug problem, went to rehab, died in her bathtub and got recognized on the news and internet. NJ governor ordered the flags half mast on Saturday as a tribute to Whitney. 24 year old Army Pfc. Cesar Cortez, assigned to 5th Battalion, 52nd Air Defense Artillery Regiment, 11th Air Defense Artillery Brigade, 32nd Army Air and Missile Defense Command, Fort Bliss, Texas, died the exact same day serving during Operation Enduring Freedom and I, personally, haven’t heard his name until now. If you believe that the people who are dying daily for your and my freedom are the true American heroes and deserve more respect than any celebrity, re-post if you agree.

My response: I don’t believe that….I think there is more than enough respect and compassion to go around for EVERYONE. An addict is not less deserving of our compassion and respect than any other including all those in the military fighting for our freedom.

Now it has down graded to a pissing war and I hate myself for responding at all. It is not the flag thing that bothers me. It is the fact that she reduced another humans life to one sentence: She had a drug problem, went to rehab and died in a bathtub. We are all so much more than our poor decisions. My son is so much more than an addict. Whitney’s life was so much more than dying in a bath tub. Where is the compassion? Why is it so easy to throw an addict out like a worthless piece of trash. I don’t understand that rationale and it pains me more than I can express in words on my blog.

I don’t want my epitaph to read: Here Lies the mother of an addict. Who died trying to save her son…my life is so much more than that.

PS I went back and read the ending. I really do know that it is not my job to save my son. It just sounded very noble. LOL Although,  I sometimes think others might see me as that at times.

This was his final response after I said would no longer respond: Ron Getthatmoney DeShetler

Someone is opinionated. Sorry I don’t have the same opinion as you.. Insinuating that a child molester and addict have something in common NO! I’m saying they DO! They both have ADDICTIONS! One mental, one physical. How can you say they’re not similar? You sound like you are defending a drug addict, but think a child molester with a mental addiction is wrong. ADDICTION is what they have in common. So with that being said why would you be offended? I have grown up. I’ve seen more in my life than most. I don’t just go off statistics and commission. I go off life experience, so if you think that makes my heart dark so be it. I think it just makes me more cautious on what life really is.
I could honestly vomit right now. I can not believe I participated in a conversation with this persons husband. Shaking… He wins I went and deleted all my comments. I will not be a part of his disgusting view…
About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to I am in this ridiculous fight…

  1. Annette says:

    Well, I just want your readers to know its not me harassing you on FB since I did disagree with you a few posts back. lol I am always for compassion and respect though. Whitney deserves compassion, respect for the good she contributed to our society, and sorrow for the tragic loss of her life and no more chances to heal and get healthy. Of course this soldier deserves all the same things AND the flag flown at half mast.

  2. madyson007 says:

    Annette you NEVER harass me. I am so grateful to hear any advice or opinions you have even when we disagree. Some times I respond a little more eloquently than at other times but I love all my regular readers like nobodies business! Never sensor your comments on my blog…they are so important.

  3. madyson007 says:

    I also want to add there is not one regular reader who would think anything unkind about you Annette. Ever.

  4. Ron Grover says:

    I think you have said all that needs to be said and you said it very well.

    It is sorry that the person that makes a big deal about this, I heard the same thing in my area too, they are arguing exactly opposite of what our soldiers are fighting to protect. We shouldn’t have a nation of people that are “better than” or “worse then” others. Our nation was founded on the concept that all men are created equal. As far as I know none of those “all men” (ladies too) were created perfect. We all make our mistakes including those fighting to protect freedom. Some make mistakes that are fatal, that does not make them “less than” it just makes them into what makes the greatest American, human.

    • madyson007 says:

      Ron I wish I could copy and paste what you just wrote but after the last response he gave about addicts, famous people, Whitney, Michael Jackson and child molesters all rolled into one, I will no longer be responding to him under any circumstances. He is psycho and will to go to great lengths to prove that his point is the right one. When will I ever learn to keep my mouth shut? I am done with him…

  5. Connie says:

    I saw a similar post on facebook, with a photo of a marine …. I started to respond the same way you did and then just shut off the computer. It’s hard to know what to do. People just don’t understand. I did post a few times where some people said “Well if you don’t want to die, don’t take drugs!” or something like that. I tried to defend. Don’t know if it was helpful. Just extending sympathy and understanding for you on this one. It’s hard to watch ignorance at work on social networking!

  6. Lisa says:

    I was upset about these FB posts until I thought of my life BEFORE my sons addiction. At that time I probably would have felt the same way. In fact I don’t recall having much compassion for Kurt Cobain or Heath Ledger or Anna Nicole. Consider the source and consider people’s inability to understand without walking in our shoes. It’s an argument we cannot explain. Now with every celebrity addiction death it shakes me to my core. Weird how times can change

  7. madyson007 says:

    Lisa I have always had the ability to walk in someone else’s shoes…I am not very judgmental and don’t pretend to know everything. I felt nothing but sadness when hearing of Kurt, Heath and Anna’s death. I also never believe that mine is the right and only view. I am willing to hear another point of view without condemning them.

    • Lisa says:

      This is why it is so upsetting to you. You te obviously a very compassionate non judgmental person. I feel that indefinitely was not. I guess God is giving me some tough life lessons to learn and boy he gave it to me good 😉

  8. Gal says:

    I did think the reaction to Whitney’s death was overly big. (We were in L.A. at the time, and local news stayed on the air live for several days!) BUT…my hope is that the death of such a beloved idol will help bring to light that addiction is a disease, like cancer or diabetes. And many of our service people suffer from it. When it comes to people like your Facebook lady, it’s probably just best to say nothing and let her get bored and go away. Maybe’s the fallout from Whitney death will save lives in the long run.

  9. madyson007 says:

    I think Whitney’s death had a lot of hoopla too. She was a big star and some felt it was big news worthy. I can agree with that…how ever is it really necessary to diminish her death in one paragraph? This is a perfect example if you don’t have anything nice to say don’t say it all. It is the “But” that hangs in the air that is so wrong. She was a beautiful person, loved by many etc…BUT she was an addict who went to rehab and died in a bathtub. The but makes it seem like she is less than. Adding an “And” would just be describing her life in a truthful manner. I don’t know what I am trying to say any more…it’s all semantics but boy did that man on Facebook hurt me.

  10. Tori says:

    I live in LA and yes it was a lot of news and frankly still is. On one of our morning shows this morning one of the news people were commenting that there was only a couple of channels (them being one of them) that were at Court to hear the Judge praise Lindsey Lohan for the remarkable improvement she has made. As the Judge was praising her the camera zoomed in to see a healthy, happy and I mean a very big smile on Lindsays face for receiving so much praise from the Judge. The News Woman said how proud she was to be at a station that wasn’t only there to cover when Lindsay was being carted off to jail and was in a huge mess. She said it always amazed her how few people care with a Celebrity starts turning their life around and how in this case there was only a couple of cameras waiting for her this morning. It is so sad but true, Lindsay has not been talked about much for a couple of months now.

    I also saw so many comments about Whitney and you are right it was always the BUT. We always hope it brings attention and it does for a minute BUT that’s it.

    Defriend the person.

  11. madyson007 says:

    I did defriend him/her. What bothers me about that is, I am sure he thinks he won as I slunked away. I also deleted all of my comments because I could not bare to think of my name sitting next to his child molester garbage. I guess the lesson learned is it doesn’t matter what I tried to have him hear. He was incapable of hearing it. He held on to the idea that he was right and I was wrong. I really only wanted him to consider there is another side to this. I am also confused why he would assume I have no life experience. I would never assume that.

  12. Barbara says:

    Good for you for defending your beliefs, which of course I share! When I come across people like them it pisses me off, but then I remind myself: they have NO CLUE. They don’t GET IT. They think addiction is a moral issue and its not. If they loved an addict, they would understand, and lucky for them they don’t, but that’s still no excuse for being insensitive assbites with no compassion.

Leave a Reply

