In Limbo…

We have been giving J a list of things to do while we are all at work and school. He is accomplishing most of it. I am so tired,  it has been really nice to come home to a clean house with laundry folded! The weather has been rainy so he has not accomplished anything from his fathers list, which does not make his dad very happy.

Nothing new on the job front…I am not sure he is ever going to get a job. Even McDonald’s ask’s if you have a felony conviction. What happens to young adults with a record are they just lost, throw away kids? I think he is going to have to go to a smaller “mom and pop” type place that does not do background checks…like a pizza place or a diner or something?

My husband and I have talked about whether J can pull it together while still living at home and neither one of is convinced he can. Throwing him out or dropping him off in a strange town feels like we are dooming him to relapse. We have drug tested him and he is clean…which is what I thought. When I said in my previous post “How do you really know for sure?”, that wasn’t because I suspected anything…I was just alluding to the fact that know one really knows. We have another test ready just to double check, which we will do soon but it feels like a waste. I still do not feel like he is using…at all.

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to In Limbo…

  1. Dawn M McCoy says:

    Awesome that he is clean, and doubly awesome that your house is clean! Maybe time for some counseling? I think a good AOD counselor might be something that could help. Also, in our town, we have something called the “one day at a time” club. Its a place where recovering addicts can hang out, play pool, etc, without being exposed to drugs or alcohol. My point, though, is that THEY have resources, like who will hire someone with a record, where they can get training, things like that. Might be worth investigating if your town has such a place. We are pretty small, under 20k people, so even small towns may have SOME resource you can use. The county mental health center is probably a good place to start.

  2. Syd says:

    Isn’t it up to him to stay clean? He is only doomed to relapse if he uses, right? I am glad that thus far he is doing well.

  3. madyson007 says:

    Syd it is completely up to him…testing him enables me to stand clear on my boundaries/options. The deal is if you are clean you are welcome in our home…we have had to expand on that. Being clean is not enough anymore but throwing him out doesn’t seem like the answer either.

    Counseling is a great idea Dawn. I have not found any programs or places like the one you shared but I am still looking. Clean house, laundry, etc… all good.

Leave a Reply

