Here or elsewhere…

I am not sure what kind of computer access I am going to have in the up coming weeks. I just wanted to let you know so you wouldn’t worry…cause I am considerate like that. :o) I also have a question for you. It is getting harder for me to limit this blog to “addiction”. Now, I understand why people sometimes stop posting when things get farther along in recovery:  A) It is hard to talk about how good things are going, when there is pain and suffering going on in other blogs. B) It makes me feel self-conscious like I am tricking you into reading my family life, when you really signed up for the “addiction part”. I don’t want to be disrespectful. Do you know what I mean? I don’t think I will ever stop blogging but I was wondering if I should start a new blog about my life, anyone would be welcome but you wouldn’t be forced into reading my exploits with the pinstripe guy.  This blog started with J’s addiction but has been evolving into something quite different…I have gotten some messages that this may not be the right forum. That I should take these stories some place else. I am ok with that but maintaining more than one blog is labor intensive and I am afraid that it would end up being a chore instead of something I enjoy. So I guess I am asking your opinion to blog about things outside the journey of addiction here or should I take it else where?

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Here or elsewhere…

  1. onemomtalking says:

    I have been thinking about this same issue, and haven’t come up with the answer. I will always be the parent of addicts. But my identity need not be focused on that. I would certainly sign up if you started another blog. But maybe the answer is for us to keep writing in these blogs to show that there is life after or amidst the addiction “crisis” period? I don’t know. I’m curious to see what others say. I have considered just altering the name of my blog. If you start a new one, be sure to post the link here so we can follow you!

  2. notmyboy says:

    I was really thinking about leaving my blog when my son reached 7 months sobriety….then he relapsed. I’m not saying your son will relapse, it’s just that we never know what tomorrow will bring. I’m glad I didn’t abandon ship because my readers would have left and I will be in a worse state than I already am right now.

    You have children nearly the same ages as my children. I for one will read whatever you write. I will stalk you. There, I said it. LOL

  3. Dawn M McCoy says:

    I just put a disclaimer at the top that said I was changing the focus. I lost a few of my readers is all.

  4. Renee C says:

    I will read it no matter what. It is part of the journey as far as I am concerned.

  5. Helga says:

    What Renee said!

  6. Sue G says:

    I would welcome reading anything you would want to share. I have enjoyed “getting to know” your family and hearing about your thoughts and ideas, so please continue to blog and let us know what is going on in your life.

  7. madyson007 says:

    Thank you all…this is a perfect example of why I love you all. Who else would want to hear my exploits in life?

  8. Tori Lee says:

    Addiction changes the family dynamics. Marriage, other children and how we view life in general. I think it is just as important to read about someones life when their children are sober as when they are not. First, it gives you hope, and yet it still shows that there are still a lot of problems for the family to adjust. Things that I would never have thought of such as one Parent taking a lot longer to trust the addict and how to deal with that.

    I can only say my son is sober because he is in jail. So I guess he would have 9 days sober now although I think he used prior to Court that morning. Anyway, before I would think as soon as my son was sober then my family would be perfect and everyone would be happy. What I have learned by reading other blogs with sober kids, is that it isn’t that easy. Plus it will never be what you dreamed it would be.

    ISorry for the long comment, but I hope you stay right here.

  9. HerBigSad says:

    It is ALL part of the journey, as Renee said. Hope you will continue. Anyone who doesn’t want to read a specific post can just move on to another post or another blog. But to me, it’s all important, and I really enjoy reading what you have to say.

  10. Syd says:

    Write about what you feel motivates you at the time. I find that there are days when I don’t want to write about recovery or alcoholism. I just want to write about gardening, being on my boat, marine animals, whatever….It is my blog so I write what I feel like writing. It is a way to express something. Your decision IMO.

Leave a Reply

