Cause I could not come up with a catchy heading…

J is very down for a number of reasons. He ran out of his anti-depressant. Our insurance for medication makes you fill prescriptions through the mail. I am very very very very grateful <——-(can you tell how sincere I am? No really I am.) that we have a prescriptions plan, but they are notorious for getting it wrong. J ordered it in time but the doctor they had down for his original script left the practice. When Med Co. called to get a renewal they could not contact his listed physician. So they stopped the order and sent him a letter? WTH? He is running out of medication! While J argued with them trying to figure all that out, 5 days had passed… now he had no meds and they hadn’t even mailed it yet??? Ugh…FINALLY, the doctor was able to call it into a local pharmacy but he missed 2 days and I guess he is really paying for it.

He is out of money. No jobs in site and has fines coming out the whoooha <–(yes that is a word, kind of like tuckus, booopie and wahzooo). I am fighting the urge to rush in and fix it, or at the very least aid him in his struggle. I don’t know why it is clear to me at this moment but I understand profoundly that he has to be hungry with despair because it is the only thing that will force him to take any job…and guess what?  That’s what he needs ANY JOB. Hello supermarket! Hello, Burger King you are my sons next hope for survival. I realize he needs to reach desperation before he will take a job to survive. He is there, because even with us supplying shelter and food, he is stuck! No money means: no friends, no fun and a bench warrant for your arrest when you can’t pay your fines. I will not pay his fines. I will not give him money for movies nor will I give him money for cigarettes. The end.

PS. Maybe I should give him money if he stops smoking?

 

 

 

ONLY KIDDING! Calm yourselves!

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Cause I could not come up with a catchy heading…

  1. Tori Lee says:

    I don’t think it is just addicts (even recovered) who think they are too “good” to work at certain places. My Mom has a friend who owns McDonalds or Taco Bell one of those and prior to the lovely hand tattoo they would have given B a job. But HELL no he was not going to work there. Fine, but there are numerous other places.

    Don’t get me started with Insurance right now………….. 🙂

  2. Dee Dawson says:

    Oh boy, can I relate. My son needs a job desperately and I see his hope and determination dwindling every day. Is there no one willing to hire a 21 year old? He called earlier today and is ready to give up (yikes) and I just want to cry. But then….he called about 4 hours later and told me he received a callback at the treatment center from Panera. He is psyched and re-energized for tomorrow…one more day…

  3. John says:

    I think setting up a small fund (say $2-3 a day) for his non-smoking reward could have a positive effect. If you were to frame it “I’ll put in $3 every day you don’t smoke, and at the end of a month, that will be almost $100 you can have, free and clear, for not smoking”. First time he cheats, the money goes back in your pocket and the clock starts again. This would set a goal/reward system in place that he’s not getting with his job searches.

  4. Barbara says:

    I had to laugh at your “calm yourselves” statement. It cracked me up.

    I feel bad for J. Depression is real and I can confirm that only a day or two without the meds makes a difference! I can sort of feel it if I miss one day and for sure feel it if I miss two. Keven had the same job frustrations. He just could not get a job but would not work at fast food because they only hire Hispanics and he would be the only one speaking English. This is true, but they have to be able to speak English there too or they could not do their jobs (unless they work in certain areas where very little English is spoken). But that’s not the point…the point is its not that easy for anyone to find a job these days so any and all of us need to take what we can get. I did and its not enough to pay my bills, but its better than nothing.

    I hope he can start feeling better and get a new motivation to find work. Smoking seems to be part of recovery. Its rare to find and addict in recovery or not that does not smoke. One of Keven’s buddies from court recently quit, so it can be done, but to me, that’s low on the list right now. I rather have him smoking and not using and worry about the smoking later.

  5. Momma says:

    Yeah, Tony smokes too. My husband has been pretty bent out of shape over that for years, but I agree, Barbara, priority is not using at this point. He is lucky to have a job right now, but it’s not full time, in fact, I’m not sure it’s even half time, but he works, and he can keep the job even after classes start so that’s something.

Leave a Reply

