Sleeping with my purse again…

My oldest daughter graduated from high school on Wednesday! It was great except for one thing…she had this funny little pain in her side. I told her she was nervous and to relax. Graduation was beautiful and painful all at the same time. I no longer have a daughter in high school???? How the hell did that happen? After the graduation ceremony she came home for a couple of pictures and to change into some comfortable clothes for “Project Graduation”. Our town many years ago decided to adopt this wonderful program to prevent kids from going out on grad. night drinking and partying. The high school rents out an entire funplex with laser tag, swimming, bumper cars, race cars, and a million other cool things. Graduating seniors are there from 9:00 pm until 7:00 am, it is exhausting good clean fun...a drug and alcohol free environment is strictly enforced. She had a BLAST except for one thing she still had this funny little pain in her side that was not so funny anymore.

She actually took herself to the doctor…who sent her directly to the hospital. She needed her appendix out. :o( So most of yesterday was spent in the emergency room before heading into surgery at 11:00 pm. I stayed with her and she was sent home this afternoon. I am tireeeeeed…it was very kind of them to find me a recliner’ish chair but sleep was scarce. On the way home we stopped at the pharmacy to fill her prescription for Percoset. The sweet child actually told her doctor she didn’t think she could take any painkillers home because her brother had a problem with drugs. I made sure we got a script before we left the hospital.

I am going to sleep with her pills in my purse under my pillow. I am very proud of J’s recovery but stupid I am not.

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sleeping with my purse again…

  1. beachteacher says:

    aww…poor thing,…and good call on your part regarding the pills, obviously ! Hope she feels better very soon. Your post reminds me of a similar thing that happened many many years ago to us. My husband and I got away for an overnight together for the first time ever since we’d had kids. Our daughter was 2 1/2, and our son was 1 at the time. Our good friends, another married couple w/out kids then, were taking care of our daughter and son. Anyway, we were so thrilled to be away alone, and went to a really nice Italian restaurant. During our first course of salad, my husband began to not feel well. As our meal came and during that whole time….it progressed a bit, and he was getting up and going to the restroom and back. However…he persisted in eating his great dinner (LOL), even through to dessert, despite his increasing pain. Bottom line….once we were out of the restaurant,..it really ramped up and later on after that so much that I had to take him to the nearest E.R.. It was indeed, his appendix. Like you, I waited for hours and finally, at 4:30 a.m.!, they took him in to surgery. I was so exhausted ! Meanwhile…it was many many many years later before we ever got away again alone without the kids, even for one night. : ( We only went away last year for the 1st time, for a week’s vacation alone, and our oldest was 25 at the time. So lame.

  2. Deirdre says:

    So sorry about the appendix! Good job sleeping with the Percoset. While there is no good time to have appendicitis, my husband’s came two days before we were to fly out of state to Montana to attend our then 18 year old son’s “Family Week” at rehab, where he was dealing with his chronic opiate addiction. We were already over-the-top stressed out with having PTS from two overdoses our son had at our house shortly before he entered rehab (we finally revived him with CPR as the medics arrived), I had a new job teaching middle schoolers (60 hour work weeks), and then my husband had this crisis…. While he slowly recovered at home by himself, (and cared for 4 other young children in the evenings) I flew to Montana and spent a stress-filled week dealing with our troubled son and his heinous addiction. My heart goes out to you. I wonder often at the level of stress we are capable of carrying….surely this can’t keep going on….. Blessings and strength to you and your family. Deirdre

  3. beachteacher says:

    wow Deirdre…how hellacious

  4. Syd says:

    I’m glad that she is okay. That could really have been serious. Take care.

Leave a Reply

