My new watch is missing…

I work at a very expensive private school. I am not paid all that well but I truly love my job and it’s one perk! PRESENTS! I have very generous parents and sweet kind children…umm mostly. At the end of the year I receive many gift certificates, flowers and gifts. This year was no exception. I was particularly fond of a very nice watch I was given. It is missing.

I asked my husband, the dogs and each one of my kids, if they new where it might be. They all said, no they didn’t know where it was except J. He said “Yes, I know where it is. I took it and sold it for drugs” with a totally dead pan expression on his face. I gasped and looked shocked for about 30 seconds and then burst into laughter and so did J. LOL It was delightful in a very warped and weird way. It never really occurred to me that he had taken it for any reason. Things go missing all the time in our house. My newly anointed 8 year old is always moving and losing things. It is very frustrating. I am sure it will show up but I felt a small sense of liberation because I did not think or assume J stole it! Trust must be returning into our relationship…umm kind of.

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My new watch is missing…

  1. Barbara says:

    I totally get it! When you can laugh at a drug reference, it means progress has been made. Keven recently asked me for $20 (not uncommon, he buys little things at the store near rehab) so as I was handing it to him I said “is this for the usual?” and he said “yeah, heroin, coke, opana, bars……” and we both laughed. It may not have seemed funny to the lady who overheard our exchange but it was a good feeling for both of us.

  2. Tori Lee says:

    That was funny and how could we not see that humor? I am missing the flip video that my Husband bought me a couple of months ago….I know he took it. The sad thing is even if he didn’t the first sign of something missing we know, he took it. I can’t wait to have the day where I don’t automatically accuse him of stealing from us.

    • Terri says:

      When we asked our son if he knew where his dad’s chainsaw was at his response was, “Yeah, Mom. I am practicing to be a lumber jack.” We found out two months later he had pawned it. I agree with Tori, I hope there comes a day that when something is misplaced or lost in my house I don’t automatically assume that my son took it. He recently moved to his own apartment and we gave him a television. My mouth wanted to say, “Please don’t pawn that”. I didn’t say it but the thought was certainly there.

  3. Momma says:

    yes, I can appreciate the chuckles here too. We were joking around about starting a band, and my husband jokingly said to Son2, you still have your bass guitar don’t you? you didn’t sell it? Son2 laughed, and said no, he still has it. For some reason, he kept that, but many other things went missing… hmmm, maybe I should look for the trumpet.

    • madyson007 says:

      My son has held on to his guitar too…he take great comfort in playing it and always has. I find it very interesting that all of our addicts are bright, creative and sensitive. I have not heard one parent share that their addict use to be quarter back on a football team or star lacrosse player. Anyone have any thoughts on that?

  4. beachteacher says:

    mine’s a drummer…also plays some guitar….and is really bright and sensitive too. However, his really really nice drum set…all of it,..cymbals, stands, everything,..that he saved 1/2 of by working so much….all gone/pawned. : ( (and obviously, lots of other stuff as well)

  5. notmyboy says:

    Madyson,
    My son was a baseball player, football player and basketball player. He loved sports. He was not musical in the least. He was/is very smart, but played it down to be “cool”. i would not classify him as sensitive. He was, and still is, very popular with his peers. He might not fit the mold of the high school drug addict, but that was exactly what he was nonetheless. đŸ˜¦

Leave a Reply

