Correct me if I am wrong…

I found this definition which I feel is fairly accurate  may or may not be accurate: The Pink Cloud Defined

Early recovery is often referred to as a rollercoaster ride because it involves a mixture of great highs and great lows. Emotions that have been anesthetized with alcohol and drugs suddenly awaken, and feelings can be particularly intense. As the body and mind adjusts to this new life, there can be rapid changes in mood. There will usually come a time though, when the individual hits a smooth patch. Life will feel wonderful and the future exceptionally bright. Staying free of addiction now feels effortless and the individual may wonder what all the fuss was about.

The term pink cloud tends to be used negatively to describe people who are too high on life. They are individuals who have lost touch with reality and are now living in a fantasy land. The emotions that this person is experiencing do not properly reflect their actual situation. The pink cloud syndrome in addiction recovery was first described by Alcoholics Anonymous.

The above information came from http://alcoholrehab.com/alcohol-rehab/pink-cloud/

Anyone else want to chime in on examples or explanations…please do!

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Correct me if I am wrong…

  1. i couldn’t tell you right from wrong in these descriptions. i am a recovering addict in narcotics anonymous. people used to tell me all the time i was on a pink cloud, though they would never tell me exactly what it meant. i swear these terms need to be posted in meeting halls. i don’t take kindly to the term pink cloud, i feel after 6 years of recovery i am still on mine.

    i think the members who told me this, themselves were a bit jealous of my progress. don’t get me wrong i consider myself in the remedial program, i haven’t finished my steps, on 9 now, but what i did from the beginning was get involved. i asked questions all the time, even the stupid ones. and i kept going back. even when people made me feel bad. i shared in meetings like when i write in my steps. honestly.

    i swear sometimes i am the only honest person in the meeting. i hated going into a meeting and hearing members share half heartedly, yeah i lost my job, my health is bad and the car broke down. but its a great day to be clean!! B.S. these people sometimes are walking slogans. their lives are no different then the last day they used. the ones who are winners, those are the ones involved, not only in their recovery, but the program, they lead meetings, take the message into treatment facilities, they build our phone lines and answer 12 step calls. see the miracle doesn’t happen when you walk in the door, it happens when you carry the message, another thing i never see in meeting halls. the actual ‘message’ of narcotics anonymous. our message is ‘that an addict, any addict, can stop using, lose the desire to use and find a new way to live.’

    for me it took over a year to lose the desire and with life these days i have fought the desire. addiction is a life long battle. it doesn’t go away even with years of clean time. but it is a battle worth fighting. here is to the moment of silence that got ‘J’ into the doors.

  2. Lou says:

    Pink cloud is a dumb expression in my opinion. I have never seen a heroin addict on a “pink cloud.” In the first year of recovery, they are white knuckling it! Fighting against it all the time, even if it other people don’t notice.

    It takes a long time for the addict to say “wow, sober life is just so wonderful.” Because for most of them, it isn’t. Getting clean and staying clean is not wonderful and happy…it’s hard work to rebuild all the bridges you burned while in active addiction.

    Thanks for your comments on my blog, and I think you are funny:)

Leave a Reply

