Handling disappointment with quiet dignity…

L and I have been back from Alabama now for more than a week. It was a difficult trip. We got stuck in Atlanta, rental car reservation vanished, hotel we were sent to was booked…it was one thing after another. We both pushed on and had a great time in the long run. I will cherish that time I got to spend alone with my daughter before she heads off to college. She did not make the cheerleading team. 100 very talented girls showed up for 13 spots… L learned some important lessons. Being able to handle disappointment with quiet dignity is a very honorable  trait to possess. Also, no matter how much you want it or how talented you are…there may be someone who is also talented and wants it more.

The University of Alabama is a gorgeous campus! L’s dorm was built in 2009. Each apartment has a kitchen, a living room and 4 single bedrooms and 2 full bathrooms! I could totally live there! L likes to remain active so she thinks she might join the tri-athlete club to stay fit and make some friends.

The  devastation in Tuscaloosa was enormous. Words can not adequately describe the destruction. You see a picture on your TV and think Oh MY GOD this is awful!!! When you see it in person you think OH MY GOD there were people in all of those houses! Where are they now? Are they alive? I think it put things into perspective for us both.

Tomorrow is her prom and she is going to look stunning. She chose a beautiful classic dress that she will look back on 20 years from now and admire. I will put up some pictures tomorrow night. I try to maintain my children’s privacy but she is to glorious not to share!

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free when my oldest son went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Handling disappointment with quiet dignity…

  1. Sherry says:

    Can’t wait for photos…and happy for you and your daughter! I always read your posts…love your sense of humor!

  2. Tell your daughter “Congratulations” on her graduation. Such an exciting time!! Enjoy!

  3. Barbara says:

    Sounds like a great weekend with plenty of opportunities to be frustrated and/or discouraged – but you both rose above that! I am so excited that we get to see her in her prom dress! I think this is the first time I kind of wish I would have had a daughter (not instead of, but in addiction to Keven). I wish her the very best time tomorrow night AND during her Freshman year!

Leave a comment