Leaving on a jet plane…

don’t know when I’ll be back again. Don’t you just love that song?

My daughter and I are leaving tomorrow night for Tuscaloosa, Alabama! She has cheerleading tryouts for the University of Alabama this weekend. If you are the praying kind, please storm heaven with prayers of good wishes and a fabulous tryout for my Lexi! She wants this so bad and so do I!  This will be one of the few times I am traveling out of state by myself…ya know like me in charge. I am quite the princess. I have been married since I was 22. I am a little nervous about the whole thing. I have never even rented a car and I am in my 40’s! Hope it all goes smoothly.

I am also praying that Tuscaloosa is recovering from the historical tornadoes that went through there less than a month ago. I am worried about seeing what true devastation looks like. It is times like this that I realize what a sheltered life I have lead.

Dad, J and family should do fine and I can truly say I am not leaving on this trip with any paralyzing fear that J is going to fall to pieces like so many other times. This is really going to force J and Dad to communicate…hopefully in a respectful manner. There has been a huge improvement between the two of them, but all those underlying “issues” are still lurking under the surface. It doesn’t seem to take much for them to come bubbling up to the surface. I just want my two little ones to feel safe and calm while I am gone. Oh and don’t forget to feed the dogs!

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Leaving on a jet plane…

  1. onemomtalking says:

    I will pray for you and your daughter and your husband and son. I hope you have a fun and wonderful trip! I pray for good weather for you! Several men at my church just came back from Tuscaloosa, delivering supplies. They said much of the town looks normal, and then much not. Depends where you go. God bless you!!

  2. Renee C says:

    Prayers coming your way for your daughter and you. Enjoy this trip with her and cherish all the time you get to spend with her. Good Luck!

  3. Syd says:

    I hope that all goes well. Glad that your husband and son are communicating better. It may take time but they will get there–compassion and acceptance are the keys.

  4. beachteacher says:

    so glad that you’re getting away,..that’s wonderful ! And good luck to your daughter….wow, that’s big time college football….serious cheerleading competition. Let us know how she makes out. Crossing fingers for her here.

  5. Barbara says:

    This was very fun to read! I can’t wait for the report of how it all went, especially how Lexi did and if the dogs got fed 🙂

    I never traveled much alone either till a long distance relationship a few years ago that had me going back and forth jumping on and off flights running to catch the next one.

Leave a Reply

