Hmm, this is curious…

My son & his dad are going on a fishing/boating trip tomorrow. J paid for both of them with his own money! This is curious on so many levels, let us touch on just a few.

  • Curiosity number 1…J has a job AND money! As we all know, addicts have almost no money. J has money in the bank, has begun to pay his father back and will start paying his fines this week. He has come through for his brothers and sisters when they needed a few dollars here or there too…he would NEVER have done that in full addict mode. In addict mode his money was his but everyone else’s was up for grabs.
  • Curiosity number 2…My husband said “Yes, J I would love to go on this trip with you!”  I  fell smack onto the floor (well not really but I did gasp).
Can he finally be growing up? Can I get excited yet? Well, I think I will wait until they get back from their day together before I do the happy dance. I will keep you all posted on how it went.
About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Hmm, this is curious…

  1. HerBigSad says:

    I would have hit the floor too. DD2 is planning to give her dad a gift certificate she made for a day at an air museum and lunch, on her. I truly understand the mixed feelings! Very thoughtful of her and he really should love it. Will they come home sporting bruises on their feelings? I will pray that this trip is part of continued healing for your son and husband. 🙂

  2. beachteacher says:

    how great is this ? I loved reading it….enjoy ! : )

    *and by the way….your statement about in addict mode, his money was his, but everyone else’s was up for grabs….SO TRUE ! It was an apt description,..glad that it’s changed now.

  3. Lisa says:

    So so happy for you. Trying not to envy thy neighbor over here!!!!

  4. notmyboy says:

    I wonder if I’ll ever see the day when the boy’s money is not his? Time will tell.

  5. Renee C. says:

    Hope they have a great day! What a wonderful Mothers day gift that would be. Last year that is all i wanted was my daughter to stay on the road of recovery. She is now 16 months clean and what a future she has! I hope next year you will be able to say the same thing to someone else who is in your shoes next year. Your blog is a blessing to me!

  6. Lisa Carp says:

    Don’t wait to enjoy the moment! We always allow ourselves to get “sucked in” to the bad stuff, the negative stuff, the crazy stuff. Allow yourself to be sucked in to the “good stuff” even if only for a day! You deserve it!

    Happy Mother’s Day!

  7. Barbara says:

    Definitely “hit the floor” worthy news! Lets hope its a wonderful day (that they catch some fish) and you can enjoy the significance of this for a long time to come!

  8. Syd says:

    That sounds great. Nothing like a fishing trip between father and son. I think that is definitely special.

  9. Jeff says:

    Wow, I have to admit, I have really doubted the legs that J’s recovery had. In general I don’t often trust things anyhow, but I just didn’t think, given the way things went down, that his sobriety would hold. J may even prove me wrong and I certainly hope to hell he does. What you have listed are some very strong signs of a solid recovery. There have been all sorts of things that I didn’t think you should have been celebrating about but this latest news, coupled with the length of sobriety J has strung together, a little celebration is in order!

    • madyson007 says:

      Thank you Jeff for your kind words. What were the things I should not have been celebrating? LOL I just ask because I feel like I have been kind of careful about celebrating much of anything because I am so scared this all going to go POOF!

      • Jeff says:

        I’m talking about many months ago – 6 to 12 months or more – when you still seemed to have more rose colored glasses than you do these days – or perhaps had not been through nearly as many setbacks as you have since then, and all of the wisdom that comes with it. You seem much more cautious and perhaps realistic these days. The best predictor of the future is the past. The thing is, with each day, J creates a new past for which to predict his future. Hopefully before you know it he will have strung together not only months, but years of new history.

Leave a Reply

