Hell hath no fury like a mom scorned…

I had a really ugly conversation with a woman who I thought was a friend. She is the mom of one of my daughters friends. She has always felt it necessary to diminish my daughter in any way possible to make her daughter look better? Sounds childish right? I have ignored it for many years because I understand the wonderful little package my daughter really is and never felt the need to defend or explain anything. I think she feels the need to tell anyone who will listen how wonderful her daughter is because people do not necessarily see it. Her daughter is not always well liked by her peers and she is always a part of  the drama, drama, drama. I think my daughter in general works hard to stay out of that. She is not overly concerned about the clothes she wears or the car she drives but “friend” is obsessed with all of that and her mother too.

I ignored all the garbage BUT, she has gone to far and I had to respond. I have this terrible feeling this is going to get really bad. In general I am not a confrontational kind of gal but I could not stop my self and I told her what I thought. I was just tired of all the digs. It is not enough for her to just say how wonderful her daughter is… that I am use to. She has to say it in a way that makes my daughter less than. I am so mad I have gotten sucked into this, I really do know better but I could not help myself.  I do not like to draw any attention to our family for obvious reasons. We are tragically flawed and I am still holding on to all these secrets that others know nothing about…this did not help. Keeping my head down and flying low under the radar is tough to do when all eyes are turned on you. I am going to be like Dory and just keep swimming. I am just filled with metaphors today…Ok I will stop now.

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hell hath no fury like a mom scorned…

  1. We all have our breaking point…don’t worry about it. In the big scheme of things…it doesn’t matter!

    Sherry (from Awakening Through Love)

  2. Cheri says:

    Hang in there, Mom. It happens. I agree with what Sherry said above – in the passing of time, no one will remember this because it is truly insignificant in the big picture. But I will say that I have been there, done that, and bought the tee-shirt. You are carrying a huge load right now, and sometimes we just break.

    Hugs and prayers coming your way,
    Cheri

  3. Tori Lee says:

    I think we all have those people that like to compare and for what? I still don’t get it. Maybe we are different because of our addict children? But there is only so much you can take from someone who feels the need to point out that she “thinks” her family is better than yours.

    I had one of those friends even though I consider her an alcoholic she had the perfect daughters. They are awesome by the way with incredibly high GPA’s and even though they are younger than my addict she always felt the need to point out her kids would never do what my son does – that is until she found ectasy, tons of weed and who knows what else. We didn’t speak for a year after I had lost it once I just didn’t need that in my life when I was living with my son the addict.

    Anyway, she is a friend now and when she asks about my son I know it comes from a different place than it used to. I just don’t talk about it much.

    Maybe this person needed to be told off. I don’t think you did anything wrong I just hope she “gets” it.

  4. Syd says:

    I am non confrontational too but will speak my truth. I also examine my motives as to why I am doing something. If it is selfish, self-seeking, fearful or dishonest, then I pause and THINK.

  5. Barbara says:

    This woman doesn’t fit the description of “friend” to me because friends are supportive and loving and care about us and therefore our families. Sounds to me like this woman is very insecure and also insecure about her daughter. She has a need to put your girl down to make hers look good. Very sad, and not very nice. I’m glad you told her off. I’m not confrontational either but we all have that “mother bear” instinct if someone threatens our child in any way. You reached your limit and I say GOOD FOR YOU! Now you can just go about your business and hopefully this lady will get the message.

    I like your new template, makes me want to put my toes in the water at the beach. Shoot, its 88 degrees here – I may as well just jump in with my Boogie Board!

Leave a Reply

