I HATE DEBT & a bad economy…

I wish there was a magic wand that I could wave and just make the pressure of all this debt go away. I wish I could sell something valuable to pull out from all of these crushing bills. It is unfortunate the money that has already been paid out for lawyers, fines, medical bills did not come at a more prosperous time in our lives. The economy sucks and we are living proof that ANYONE and EVERYONE can take hit in bad times. I know we are better off than some but it doesn’t feel like it when you are trying desperately to keep your head above water. I offered to sell my engagement ring but my husband is adamant that we will not be doing that. I tried to explain to him that although it has sentimental value, I would gladly sell it to ease the pressure. My husband has a sports car that sits in the garage under a cover that he takes out on sunny days, when the stars align with jupiter and there is no chance of precipitation, gravel or acorns falling. SELL THE FREAKING CAR!

Our lawyer wanted to appeal J’s last case…racking up thousands more. My husband wanted to do it! I said absolutely not, it is time to put this behind us and for J to accept the consequences. Interestingly, J said please don’t do it. I just want to get on with living. He says everything feels like it is on hold when court is hanging over your head and I know exactly what he means. He wants to pay his debt go to probation and live.

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I HATE DEBT & a bad economy…

  1. Tori Lee says:

    Oh can I relate. I told my Husband the other day that I wish we would have realized in 2005 or 2006 how serious this was because first we could afford a program AND had health insurance AND he wasn’t 18 so we could have gotten him help – maybe.

    Well, now, we have no insurance, we have gone through our savings, we have cashed out our retirement. No I am not saying we are broke because we know that there are people far worse off than we are, but it is all relative. Our income went way, way down but our bills didn’t. We struggle every month and when you throw in Attorneys, Detox at almost $1000.00 per day, and on and on well it sure doesn’t make it any easier. Just more and more debt getting further in and worried we will never get out.

    I think that is great that J is not asking for your help. That shows a lot of maturity and acceptance on his part.

  2. Renee C says:

    Sounds like you should listen to J and let him decide how he is going to handle his future! Good Luck!

  3. Syd says:

    Good for you to take care of yourself. You also have real life situations that need attention.

  4. Barbara says:

    We have a lot in common right now! My phone rings about 12 – 20 times today because I am behind on all my bills. And it sounds like J and Keven have the same mindset. Keven is ready to get all this behind him and start fresh with nothing hanging over his head.

    I have an engagement ring I could sell but its only a 1/4 carat so doubt its worth much. I offered to give it back after I broke it off with the guy but he said keep it. I think I will sell it….

    • madyson007 says:

      I hate answering the phone…for that very reason. I have know idea how much my ring is worth but it’s not going to pay all our bills…that’s for sure. I am seriously thinking of putting an add in the paper to sell his precious car. That could put a huge dent in paying our bills. I really think it selfish for him not to just let it go. His take on it is “I spent my entire life working towards getting my dream car and I am not selling it to pay debt off that we should never have been stuck with in the first place”. I can appreciate that but not all that debt came form J. A lot of this is just the reality of a really bad economy, no overtime, pay freeze, hospital bills etc…

  5. Lisa Carp says:

    J is voicing that it is his responsibility and that’s fantastic. Allow him to take responsibility for his life. It is a major part of his recovery. And about the car? Hmmmm, clearly your husband doesn’t feel the same crushing anxiety about the debt that you feel. Do you handle the bills, do you take most of the calls?

    I know that in looking back on my now ended marriage, I protected my husband from so much of our life drama’s, including our stuff with Bryan and including financial drama. I honestly thought I was doing what was best for him and demonstrating how much I loved and cared for him. In the end, it didn’t matter. He did not see that as demonstrating my love for him or my caring about him.

    So, if the situation is dire, you might remind him that once out from under the debt and once back on the right track financially, he could get another car. If he achieved it once, he can achieve it again. But honestly you have to think about my comments and take them with a grain of salt since I wasn’t able to hold my marriage together, even after 23 years!

  6. Renee C. says:

    Madyson,
    Its ironic that i opened up this blog right now. I was just speaking (loud tones) to my husband about trying to figure out which bill to pay what on. My daughter and her boyfriend created alot of the bills but we we living in denial and kept creating our own then right before she went into rehab my husband got laid off for 14 months and then again for 8 months so we are trying to figure it all out. My daughter has taken responsibility for the major credit card her boyfriend and her ran up and has been paying it down which i refused to do but when this all began the phone calls were rampant and if she misses the payment by one day they begin once again. Her car was in my name and hers so I had to pay that for almost an entire year until she got a job but I didnt want my credit ruined so I paid low on credit cards they ran up etc. Long story on that one. Well I feel your pain and with all the stress in the marriage with the addiction and recovery, the money stress is just an added stress to our marriages. I understand why alot of divorces come out of this. STRESS! I continue to pray weekly for all of our children and my fellow parents. Just know you are not alone in this,we are all there with you struggling.

Leave a Reply

