Ok here’s the blip…

Addicts can experience PAWS for up to a year or more after they stop taking an opiate. We have all read up on that. Sleep being a major complaint of most. Sleep is hard to come by for J…I understand that and I sympathize with him. However we told him early on that he was going to have to stop taking Ambian for a couple of reasons 1. It does not work for him. 2. He talks in his sleep. 3 HE SLEEP WALKS and has no recollection of it in the morning. My husband was living in fear that he would burn the house down. J would cook a pizza in the oven eat it and then leave the oven on and then swear up and down he didn’t know what we were talking about. 4. It is NOT recommended for an addict in recovery. So we made it CLEAR that Ambian was not an option.

This is how it happened. I dropped his prescription off for his anti depressant at the pharmacy. When he went to pick it up the next day they gave him that medication and the Ambian that had been sitting in the cue for awhile. He thought he hit the jack pot and he was finally going to get a good night sleep. I guess it sounded good in theory. He took one around 10:00 and tried to go to bed…it wasn’t working so he took a second. He does not remember anything after that. Well 4:00 AM we can here him going up and down the stairs not even trying to be quiet. WTH? His eyes were wide open but he was sound asleep and making no sense. I thought he had relapsed and my heart literally stopped but when I went into his room I saw the prescription for Ambian. I can see that it was filled that day for 30 pills. I counted what was left in the bottle he didn’t take 2 he took 6!!!!!! He says he does not remember doing that and he probably doesn’t. THAT IS WHY WE SAID NO MORE AMBIAN!

J was mortified and apologetic and my husband was apoplectic! My husband was also secretly happy that it was not an opiate but he would never say that. I too was upset about the blip but grateful it was not an opiate. I do realize that what happened was a bad thing and the addict behaviors still lives deep within him but he owned up to it and flushed them down the toilet.

I am interested in hearing your take on it. Is this a warning of things to come or just a small bump on the journey?

 

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Ok here’s the blip…

  1. Lisa says:

    Um I should be so lucky with a blip like this. Just sayin!

  2. Connie says:

    Thanks for sharing this. I understand the feeling – wondering how to think about it. My gut is that it’s just a blip. He responded appropriately so I’d give him the benefit of the doubt this time. My son used to sleep walk – before he even did drugs. Now, six months into recovery, he sleeps well, but says he dreams about using sometimes. Happily, those times are less and less. It’s surely not easy for us or them. God bless!

  3. Renee C. says:

    I am not surprised he is having trouble sleeping. My daughter is 16 months clean and she still has many sleepless nights. It is getting much better and it will get better for J as the weeks,months go on. I know ugh. My daughter is still on anti depressants and they help her a little with her sleeping. Unfortunately, all part of recovery but at least he hasnt used. Hoping you are feeling better. Hugs to you!

  4. parent says:

    Connie the drug dreams are very normal…my son always dreamt of relapses …took closer to a year to stop the dreams….

  5. Momma says:

    My son still has trouble sleeping after 18 months clean.

  6. Tori Lee says:

    Isn’t there something they can give him? Not sleeping is awful. Trying to sleep vs. relapsing doesn’t seem the same to me. When I am desperate I take Advil PM.

  7. Jeff says:

    A doctor who treats opiate addiction just wrote an article that directly speaks to your question. It is a pretty quick read and may provide some good insight into what J (and his family) faces throughout the rest of his life. You may want to take a look at it here: http://blogs.psychcentral.com/epidemic-addiction/2011/04/an-open-door/

  8. Barbara says:

    I’ve had insomnia most of my adult life and Ambien was my “best friend” for over ten years. I never got up and ate but I didn’t remember ANY conversations I had before bed, or what I read (took me forever to finish a book). But I never took more than the recommended dose. I have friends who have gone out and drove their cars, cooked and ate, etc. Its a common side-effect and very dangerous.

    As for sleep meds – Kev takes Trazadone and I switched to it several months ago. Has J tried that or Lunesta? They don’t have that “amnesia” side affect.

    I would not even consider this a slip up. I would consider it someone desperate for sleep, and I know how miserable that can be. I hope he finds something that can help. (I also take a melatonin every night, sometimes Valerian Root and drink some sort of herbal tea meant to help sleep, like a chamomile).

    • madyson007 says:

      Yes he has considered Trazadone and he may end up on that but it has a rebound effect when you go off of it as well as “withdrawal issues”…not like an opiate or anything but still a kind of withdrawal. It is a medication that is prescribed for depression but found to work for insomnia.

      I too have suffered from insomnia and I do sympathize …it is horrible and cumulative. A couple of days of not sleeping and I am putting my keys in the bread draw and shoes in the fridge…not to mention I can not retrieve words when I am speaking. It would be kind of funny if it was someone else. LOL

  9. Syd says:

    I think that insomnia is not uncommon. I hope that there will be a solution without drugs.

Leave a Reply

