See how far I have come?

My son is working tomorrow! I am doing the happy dance…can’t you see? BUT, dang it why does there ALWAYS have to be a but, why can it not just be fine????  Today is St. Patricks’ Day and he is meeting friends at a pub. I did not say a word but the “Mom Of an Addict” (from here on out known as MOA) in me  wanted to scream: NOOOOOOOOO, don’t go out you have work tomorrow and if it kills me I will not wake you up for any reason. I will let you fail and we will all be miserable but I will be able to go on my blog and say “I am not an enabler today! LOL Some times I just crack myself up. Well, it is better than what I would have done last year which is obsess until I made myself throw up and then text him until he turned his phone off and I might even have tried to stalk the place he was at and drag him home. See how far I have come? Just humor me…its been a good day.

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to See how far I have come?

  1. Helga says:

    You are too funny. Well, it’s not funny, really. But I am glad that you can see your progress. I know how hard it is. No looking back, going only forward from here.

  2. Lisa says:

    My son had a job to go to today 9 to 5. He is not clean from what I see. I told him I would give him a ride. 20 minutes beforehand and he still wasn’t ou the door while I waited out in the car. I left as I was sure he was in his room loading up on drugs before he could muster the energy to get out the door to make an 8 hour Pay for the first time in months to probably buy more drugs. See I just wasn’t comfortable with the whole thing. I think the old me would have been at his door begging and pleading and then texting and yelling and bribing. I’m not doing what I’m not comfortable with and I pat myself on the back for today only. I don’t know if his grandmother gave him a ride or his sister or if he even went! I don’t care. Your son and you both give me hope for what could be and I’m just no clear how to get there! But thank you and good luck with tonight and tomorrow!

  3. Renee C. says:

    so proud of you for coming this far. I was in the same place last year and now when my daughter doesnt come straight home from work and I would normally text her over and over until she answers, I wait and she eventually texts me. Keep working on yourself and I hope he gets up this morning by himself. hugs to you

  4. Dianne says:

    I am new to your blog and haven’t taken the time to go back and read up on everything. But the question that keeps coming back to me is this: Why does your son still live at home?

    • Madyson007 says:

      You would need to go back a little and read…it is a long story. He can live at home as long as he is clean. That’s it and I am thrilled o be able to say at the moment he is.

  5. Lisa says:

    Dianne before Madyson responds let me say that is the question I ask myself over and over with my own son and it’s soooo much more complex than a yes or no answer for all of us who have walked this road. It can’t be answered any other way for me besides ‘fear and hope’

  6. Barbara says:

    Very good news….how did the first day of the job go? I hope I can be writing the same thing about my son soon (he can’t look for a job for another month).

    All of these are positive steps!!!

Leave a Reply

