J is sick…

When I tell you it strikes a panic so deep in my heart I can not breath….I really am not exaggerating. It seems to be the same thing that is going around my school and what I had two weeks ago BUT I DON’T CARE! I am a mess. Logically I know this is just a normal illness but my “parent of an addictness” is in full drive. I really hope this is not a life long sentence. I have decided that detaching while under the same roof is some what a myth, kind of like fairies but more like vampires. This is sucking the life out of me today!

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to J is sick…

  1. Tori Lee says:

    I guess no matter what things will never be the same. The trust will never be, the panic, the worry. Thinking of you.

  2. beachteacher says:

    I know….it sure doesn’t take much to get us going and feeling those awful feelings again. Sorry….I hope that he and you both feel better very soon !

  3. Kristi says:

    Sorry to hear that J is sick….try to hang in there, it’s gona take time, you’re both still in the early days but with time I believe these “situations” will get better. Hope you BOTH feel much better very soon!

  4. Barbara says:

    I’ve been in that same boat. I don’t think I’ve ever said this before but I hope he’s sick.

    Its a horrible feeling wondering.

  5. Syd says:

    Take care. One day at a time. Saying the Serenity Prayer over and over helps me.

  6. Dianne says:

    You are so very true about detaching while living in the same house. I would think it is impossible.

    Fortunately my son never asked to come back and live at home. We had already agreed that that could never happen. Even now after being in recovery for three years, I don’t think I could have him live in the house. I would always be “wondering”, “projecting”, etc. He lives about 1,000 miles away, we text or talk everyday and we get to visit him about three times a year. It works for me — and him.

    I hope you find a way to make this work. Remember detachment is an everyday discipline.

    God bless.

  7. Sue G says:

    You’re a mom. No matter what the illness, your instinct is to nurture and try to make it better. I don’t think that is something you can lose or turn away from. But you can control it. You can take steps one day at a time to do what you need emotionally and mentally to deal with the unknowns that living with an addict brings up. All you can do is your best each day. You may not be able to trust J now or ever. But you can trust yourself to do your best even in times the best seems limited. And you can trust God to guide you and to accompany you on the journey. God bless!

  8. Lisa Carp says:

    It is very difficult not to assume the worst. Pray or read or do whatever you do to calm your nerves. If he has the flu, he will get better; and if it is something else, you will see the other signs soon enough. Take care of you durig this process.

  9. Ron Grover says:

    Yes, I agree detaching teh way you need to while in the same house would be difficult if not impossible.

    The way we did it we basically evicted our son but we did it in a professional manner. We gave him 30 day notice. We offered re-location assistance (like a CLE). Each week we gave him a reminder of teh time left so to speak. When it came time for him to go of course the last week he was in a panic and denial. He wound up couch suffering at a couple friends before he got arrested and then he had a place to ssleep that was not at our house.

    Seems to me it would have been better to take us up on help with a CLE but he made the choice. We always seem to have the best rest when he was locked up and we found detaching much easier then.

Leave a Reply

