It’s not that I’m so smart, it’s just that I stay with problems longer. ~Albert Einstein

Well, he is doing what every 21 year old should be doing. Looking for a job, applying to college and dealing with his legal issues. I am proud and cautious all at the same time. This is the first time ever, that he is doing these things all on his own…no prodding or whining from me at all. I am so happy for him, his friends have come back! Ya know the good ones!

He has also heard from the “other” ones as well. I read a message on his Facebook.  He was replying to a “other kind of friend”. This kid asked if J wanted to hang out with him and J’s response almost made me cry. He said “Dude, I am sorry but I can’t hang out with you anymore, I am clean and I am going to stay that way.” His “friend” was positively indignant. He said “What? Do you think you are better than me?” and J’s response was “Nope, we are both addicts and I can not hang out with you because I don’t want to be tempted…period!.”

Miracles can happen…I just really hope this one is J’s!

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to It’s not that I’m so smart, it’s just that I stay with problems longer. ~Albert Einstein

  1. Ron Grover says:

    A profound experience. Let’s hope it is well seated with him.

  2. Kristi says:

    Amen!! I’m pulling for J too!! And yes, miracles do happen although, remaining cautiously optimistic is wise in my opinion. Batteling addiction is bitch as we all know but J appears to be off to a good and healthy start…you can’t ask for more than that!! So happy to read this post today….a little ray of sunshine!! Continuing prayers for you and J!!

  3. Tori Lee says:

    That made me cry. I am so proud of him!

  4. beachteacher says:

    I love reading this ! great answer from J. 🙂

  5. gal says:

    Go, J, go! May he stay strong and committed.
    -Gal

  6. Cheri says:

    Madyson,

    My husband and I are so happy for you and J, your family. Hang on to hope. Always. I remember being right where you are right now. It’s wonderful and terrifying at the same time. Our son will be sober five years in June! Miracles do happen. Standing with you in hope and prayer.

    Hugs,
    Cheri

  7. Syd says:

    That is great. Good for him. Stick with the winners.

  8. Deirdre says:

    Yay!!! So happy to hear that you son is thinking clearly and acting wisely!

  9. Renee C says:

    So happy for J and Miracles do happen. My daughter is living proof of that. 14 months clean Sunday. That is an awesome response to the old friend. He is doing the right things. I hope it continues and I hope you can take a deep breathe and try to work on yourself and your peace of mind. Hugs to you

  10. Sue G says:

    Oh, what wonderful news! I pray that J stays strong, that God gives him the courage to face his demons and stand tall, knowing that he has so much to gain by remaining clean. I am sure he is a wonderful young man who simply doesn’t really know his own truth: that God made him to be sufficient and able to meet all situations head on. It is a lesson so many young people need to learn so they can stop hurting themselves. Help him to believe in himself, and if he has trouble doing that, help him to believe in a loving and caring God through whom he can do all things.

    I pray that you continue to receive good reports and that J continues to make significant strides in his battle with addiction. I know that as his parent, your heart has broken many times, you have felt helpless and overwhelmed. So I also pray that you find comfort in God and His mercy and grace. Sometimes it is difficult to find Him when the problem seems so big; but the truth is it is those times when He is there the most. We just have to search, stay open, and find Him.

    May the Lord continue to bless you all.

  11. Barbara says:

    Can you see me doing a dance for joy? I am. Enjoy this…it may or may not last, only time will tell that. BUT ITS HAPPENING NOW so just enjoy it and don’t go “there” (what ifs). I am very impressed with J. He can do it….even if he slips again, he now knows how good it feels to be doing what he’s doing and that will make him want to get back on track asap. Great news!!!

  12. parent says:

    That is a weird and unusual response from his friend….when my son first hit sobriety road… his “still sick ” friends were very supportive…at almost 2 years he still has “contact” w/ them..but hangs in the halls of NA and AA ..

    Im surprised at your son’s buddy’s response

    hang in there

Leave a Reply

