Impossible…

“I just learn to accept the people in my life and realize at least they are dependable in being who they are”.  This was said by somebody at the last meeting I went to. It sounded very profound to me but also very sad. I guess this is part of having no expectations, the only thing that bothers me about this is…there can not possibly be hope without expectations. If there is a way to do this, I would really like to know how?

J will be released on the 12th…it is all our insurance will pay for. I want to have hope, I want to believe but having a hard time with that right now.

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Impossible…

  1. Syd says:

    As I see it, an expectation is what is considered the most likely to happen. An expectation, which is a belief that is centered on the future, may or may not be realistic. A less advantageous result gives rise to the emotion of disappointment. If something happens that is not at all expected it is a surprise. An expectation about the behavior or performance of another person, expressed to that person, may have the nature of a strong request, or an order. Hope is a belief in a positive outcome related to events and circumstances in one’s life. Hope implies a certain amount of perseverance — i.e., believing that a positive outcome is possible even when there is some evidence to the contrary. Just some thoughts on this.

  2. Deirdre says:

    I put my expectations in God, that he will do a mighty work in my son’s life. I humbly draw near to him, asking, seeking, knocking. Jesus says that when we do this, he will then give to us, we will find him, and the door will be open. I yield my life to my Creator and my son’s life to him too. He instructs us to cast our burdens on him and to obey. His love for us is abundant.

  3. onemomtalking says:

    My comments are in line with what Syd and Dierdre have said. Hope is where your Higher Power comes in. I think we can only “expect” things that we are capable of thinking of. Hope goes beyond that. Hope knows that good can happen in situations beyond our understanding.

    My oldest son gave his life to Jesus in jail and hasn’t touched a drug, a drink or even cigarettes since that day. **HOPE walks in unexpected places.**

    I can relate fully to what you’re experiencing right now with J coming home soon. All I can recommend is prayer and surrounding yourself with your own support system. God bless!

  4. Dawn M. McCoy says:

    I just gave up on expectations and hope both. I say to myself, it is what it is. I will no longer expect anything of her at all. I will not hope she gets clean, however I will PRAY that she does.

    I love her, I see her, when she nods off, I take her home. I don’t yell, I don’t criticize, I just simply take her home.

    It IS what it IS.

  5. Tori Lee says:

    Will J only spend two weeks in rehab? Is he coming home? I don’t understand how an insurance only pays for such a short time. We don’t have it so we had to figure it out and after detox $5000k we did get on a program for our son which they pay for 60 days of rehab (if he stays). I am still learning so much about all of this so excuse my ignorance. It seems our kids when in right about the same time – well mine was fortunate enough to make is first stop at jail.

    • madyson007 says:

      Yes apparently…our insurance will only pay for two week of intensive rehab. We are going to try and get him into a step down facility and they may pay for another 30 days but only partial. My husband and I are really debating whether we can afford the out of pocket expenses. My 18 year old daughter got into University of Alabama and will be heading there in the fall. Is it fair to use some of her college money? I just don’t know.

      Interestingly this is totally different then his first rehab experience where they would have kept him for longer than 30 days. This facility is intensive. I hope he takes what he needs to survive from this one because I am afraid.

  6. Renee C. says:

    Hopefully it has been long enough to have some impact on him.I will keep him and your family in my prayers.

  7. Honest Annie says:

    I would be feeling nervous about him coming home after only two weeks. It infuriates me that the AMA calls addiction a disease but insurance companies don’t cover more the help “cure” it. I don’t know what to say about hopes and expectations. What I do now is have them for one day at a time just like everything else. I’m always here if you need to talk.

  8. Barbara says:

    Ummm, the honest annie comment was me. I was attempting to start a new blog anonymously to share my poetry and other embarrassing things but have abandoned that idea.

  9. Renee C says:

    We made my daughter apply for welfare, we could not afford it and we were not supporting her when she went to rehab. She was able to stay for 45 days in rehab and as you know she has never used since. If he is over 21 he should be able to get the help he needs. I am wondering why the rehab hasnt suggested this. Maybe our state is different. Good Luck.

Leave a Reply

