Visiting J in an hour…

J called his exact words were “You win, please come visit me this evening I would like to make a plan and I know I am not welcome back home.”  After meeting with J, I am going to a a Nar-a non meeting at the same hospital. Crossing my fingers all will be well. Say a quick prayer.

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Visiting J in an hour…

  1. sheila says:

    I am so glad you are going to a meeting tonight. Good for you!

    If J is anything like my daughter, he may be either very sweet = manipulative, or very angry, while he is trapped in the hospital, so don’t let yourself get caught agreeing to something you don’t really want to do. BOUNDARY SHIELDS UP!

    Sheila

  2. Donna says:

    You didn’t win – HE did – IF he truly means what he says. I agree with the above – keep your boundaries and let J lead the discussion and make the decisions. Prayers as always.
    Donna

  3. onemomtalking says:

    Bless you! You are taking positive steps today. One day at a time, the best decisions we can make. And I agree with Sheila, I hope you stick to your plan.

  4. parent says:

    I agree w/ Sheila..keep boundary shields up.

    Listen…say little….give less…

    support and collaborate w/ recovery w/out giving up anything to the disease / enemy of addiction

  5. Ron Grover says:

    J is taking a baby step. I know he thinks it is a giant leap but it is only something very small. J has to come to realize there is a very long way to go and it isn’t your job to enlighten him other than to encourage him to take the next step, rehab and help.

    Boundaries are important but it is important for J to understand he has your support in his recovery but the support is conditional as it fits to your plan and your recovery.

    Hang in there and be strong.

  6. Syd says:

    Good luck. I wish you the best as you listen and think about what J says. It isn’t about winning or losing but recovering.

  7. Kristi says:

    We all know that recovery is a process and we are each responsible for our own recoveries exclusive of one another. Relapse is a blow to the chest for me everytime it’s happened; I hate and fear it. Having said that, it’s said that relapse is part of recovery and everytime an addict goes through treatment their chances of recovery increase. Protect your boundaries and let J own his recovery by encouragement and love, not to be confused with enabling. It’s a step in the right direction. Praying for us all!

  8. Renee C. says:

    Prayers have been coming your way and your sons, however you didn’t win yet, if he chooses to go to a rehab and really work his recovery then he wins and everyone in the situation wins. I hope he truly means it and he is on his way. I am glad you are going to a meeting and I hope it helps you. If this one doesnt, find another one. Hugs to you and continued prayers for your family.

Leave a Reply

