Is there value…

Is there value and worth in all of our stories, opinions and perspectives?  I think the answer is an emphatic YES.  It is nice to have a platform and a voice, like a blog to share what you consider important information. Thinking your solution is the only solution is dangerous territory. NONE of our journey’s are cookie cutter scenario’s that can be solved by solution A , B or C. There is even value in hearing information that goes against everything one might believe in. Roasting a person or ripping someone a new one, is unkind and unproductive.  I have gotten mad, upset and on occasion furious at a comment left but I do not consider them my finer moments.

What I love and appreciate about this particular blogging community is their acceptance of my voice at all stages of my journey. When I was stupid, naive and an idiot you were all there, and I was never afraid to post my feelings or views on situations. Now that I can cross naive off that list, you are still all there! :o) I would be devastated if our blogs became a place of intimidation or berating of each other. Have a voice but please let us not turn our blogs into a place to point fingers and call each other names.

I respect all of you and your opinions, and believe that we are all on a similar but separate journey in the world of addiction. I find value in comments even when I don’t necessarily agree. Please be kind.

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Is there value…

  1. Barbara says:

    I’m giving you a standing ovation for this post (ok, I’m sitting down but its the thought that counts). I agree with everything you said. I need this community even when we disagree sometimes. I think I’ll go to my blog right now….

  2. Helga says:

    I whole heartedly agree. I have been preaching this same message myself for a while. No need to put anyone down because we are already down and are looking for support. We get enough criticism as it is. Thank you for reminding the offenders.

  3. Lisa C says:

    I’ve thought the same thing for a very long time. I started out not understanding addiction or codependency. And although today I understand it much more than I even wanted to, I also recognize that my journey and my son’s journey will be our own, and even though there are similarities, there are also differences.

    I’ve always felt safe talking about it here; and I so appreciate everyone’s caring and support, with very little judgment.

    And honestly, now that I spend some time talking about my own situation (separation, pending divorce after 23 1/2 years of marriage), I feel just as safe talking about that topic. Thank you everyone, and thank you Mady for saying this out loud!

  4. beachteacher says:

    Mady,
    You actually made me feel “safer” to post on my very new blog of my own,…just from you saying this. So, thank you. And thanks to all of you whose blogs I’ve been reading for a long time now. They’re what really has held me up during this painful journey of our son’s addiction.

  5. Syd says:

    I like to think that we are each entitled to our own opinions. I may not agree with the opinion but support the person who shares it. There are many roads that reach a destination. And I have certainly learned a lot along the road that I am on.

  6. HerBigSad says:

    Well said, one and all! I wholeheatedly agree. This is not a one-solution-fits-all disease, and each of our journeys share many similarities but also many differences, in belief, methodology, priority, etc. One thing I would hope we could all ALWAYS have in common is compassion for each other and respect for each other. This community is a huge part of my recovery/ongoing sanity/strength. Thank you all!

  7. Renee C. says:

    Well said honey. I am so glad you have a blog out here for me to post on. I haven’t had the courage to do it myself. I hope my words have always been encouraging. They may not always be correct for your situation but I hope you know I am here for you always since we are taking this journey we did not ask for together. I hope your son comes to a realization soon but he is the only one who can. My daughter is 11 months clean today and just went to california alone to visit a friend from NA who recently moved back home. She had a wonderful clean time and has returned to us safely. Was a big step. I hope you can try to enjoy your holidays as best you can. It will be hard but you must for your other children. ((hugs))

  8. I totally agree…we are families that are on our own journey..Learn from each others experiences to better your own path.

    Leave what you want…take what you need mentality.

    Your blog is great!

    • madyson007 says:

      Would you mind if I added you to my blog roll? Your blog is also very good. I can so relate to the stages of grief. In fact I am coming up on my one year anniversary writing this blog and you can find all the stages of grief right here in this very blog. I think we all cycle through those stages over and over again.

Leave a Reply

